New Music Discoveries 5th July: Emily Wurramara, 3%, Telenova, and more

Emily Wurramara

As we roll into the second half of 2024, this week we’ve added ten tracks to our Discovery Playlist on Spotify and Apple Music. Our track of the week is “Lordy Lordy” from Emily Wurramara.

The ARIA-nominated lutruwita/Tasmania-based artist, author and proud Warnindhilyagwa woman hails from Groote Eylandt & Milyakburra/Bickerton Island. Whenever she drops a new song, you stop and listen. Her songs are mined from her family history and lived experiences. “Lordy Lordy” is a pop song that caresses you as it drives home the racism still endemic within Australia, especially since the 2023 referendum. Emily has  roped in Gumbaynggirr man and artist Tasman Keith to add his vocals to the mix.  It has some sweet dance vibes, with an electronic tinge which we haven’t previously seen in Emily’s songs. There’s no doubt that Emily Wurramara is one of our finest songwriters.

There is a moving video accompany the track. It was filmed across locations on Larrakia Country and directed by ARIA Award winner Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore. The earthy, gothic-inspired video for ‘Lordy Lordy‘ features the Red Flag Dancers.

The track was co-produced by Emily and Kuya James aka James Mangohig. Emily has announced that her second album, NARA, will be released on the 23rd August. We can’t wait. You can pre-order it HERE.

Telenova this week continued to offer glimpses of their upcoming debut album – Time Is A Flower (out August 16th) – with the release of their new single “Discothèque Inside My Head”. A sophisticated slice of alt pop, the single is one that will stick in the mind too, with a delightfully catchy chorus and a jangly psychedelic tinged vibe to lose yourself in. Which is quite apt, because according to frontperson Angeline Armstrong: “Sometimes all the noise and voices of my inner critic make me feel like I’m spinning around, lost in an overwhelming disco of light and sound inside my head.”

From August the band will be heading out on a massive tour in support of the new album across Australia, the UK and Europe. For more information, and to grab tickets for the Time Is A Flower Tour head HERE. Later this month they’ll also popping up around the country supporting Norway’s girl in red on her Australian tour.

3% are back this week with “Won’t Stop” from the forthcoming album, KILL THE DEAD, out August 9. The track features powerhouse vocals from the multiple ARIA-award winning KuKu Yalanji and Wakaman Jessica Mauboy. Jess’s vocals brilliantly complement Woods, Nooky and Field’s verses, celebrating and acknowledging their unstoppable and indefatigable spirit.

There is an astonishingly moving film clip to accompany the track. You can watch it HERE. It was shot in the Bomaderry Children’s Home, which is recognised as the birthplace for the Stolen Generation.

Nooky says on the release: “For me, the song’s a real positive one. It’s about not stopping and continuing on. I wanted to look into the heart and history that we carry as Blakfellas and acknowledge that there is a lot of pain and trauma that is embedded within our people. But we also wanted to show the strength, perseverance and resilience that lives in the spirit that we all carry. The visuals go to a source of pain and trauma and show the strength of our people and how we can still smile, have fun, and move forward in life with strength and pride, no matter the circumstance.”

This week also sees the return of Kimbra with the announcement of a new collaborative album, Idols & Vices (Vol. 1) that’s set for release September 25th via Inertia/[PIAS]. The two-time GRAMMY award winner will be releasing a song a week leading up to the album’s release, and kicks it all off with “Stuff I Don’t Need” featuring experimental-pop singer BANKS. The album promises to explore our increasingly complex and collective digital existence, exploring themes of identity invention, toxic celebrity worship, and the allure of online personas. And yet, in our maximalist world, “Stuff I Don’t Need” really leans into the minimalism in comparison, with sparse but sparkling production and silky vocals from both. There’s also an accompanying 90s anime inspired visualiser to check out too.

The Melbourne alt-pop outfit and Unearthed feature artist Pretty Bleak is back with “She’ll Come Around”,  another taste of their upcoming EP. Shimmering riffs blend with sweet electronics to create a fun bop full of catchy harmonies and glossy vocals.

“Everything Sucks” is the new single from Naarm/Melbourne singer-songwriter Queenie. The track, the latest from her forthcoming album New Moult, was inspired by the end of a ten year relationship during lockdown. There’s a reason why break-ups are songwriting fodder; all those emotions, angst, heartache bubbling at the surface. It’s prime material. Though it doesn’t always translate into a good, or even great song. Queenie, though has delivered the goods. “Everything Sucks” is fiery and brooding in the face of heartache. Undoubtedly cathartic to write, but also anthemic and relatable. 

Also added to the playlist this week is new music from two Tasmanian acts, singer-songwriter Bully Hay, with the Jeff Martin produced “Wash off the World” and shoe gaze doom-pop group DVRKWORLD and their new single “Bonnie” (named for the drummer’s canine companion). Finally, we also have added exclusive premieres from Jodi (“I Know A Girl”) and EDIE (“Cool Girl”).

Catch all the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Emily Wurramara “Lordy Lordy (ft. Tasman Keith)”
Telenova “Discothèque Inside My Head”
3% “Won’t Stop (ft. Jess Mauboy)”
Kimbra “Stuff I Don’t Need (ft. Banks)”
Pretty Bleak “She’ll Come Around”
Queenie “Everything Sucks”
Bully Hay “Wash off the World”
Dvrkworld “Bonnie”
Jodi “I Know A Girl” [Exclusive Single Premiere]
EDIE “Cool Girl” [Exclusive Video Premiere]

Photo by Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore