Album News Weekly: 29th July 2016

In this issue: Phantogram eye up the release of Three, Dinosaur Jr prepares for people to Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not this August, Melbourne’s Acolyte are set to drop their debut album Shades of Black next month and more!



The third studio album from Phantogram, aptly titled Three, will be released via Republic Records on September 16th. The duo have recently been locking down shows everywhere with Big Boi as Big Grams, but haven’t neglected their own tunes, rolling out the already popularly received new single, “Run Blood Run”, as a taste of what’s to come.



Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not, the new album from Dinosaur Jr, is out on Jagjaguwar/Inertia this August 5th and is available for pre-order now HERE. The track list has been revealed, along with the release of new single, “Goin Down” – check the titles out below!

  1. Goin Down
  2. Tiny
  3. Be A Part
  4. I Told Everyone
  5. Love Is…
  6. Good To Know
  7. I Walk for Miles
  8. Lost All Day
  9. Knocked Around
  10. Mirror
  11. Left/Right 
Credit: Carlos Amoedo
Credit: Carlos Amoedo


Alter Bridge are preparing for the release of album number five, titled The Last Hero, due for release in Australia via Napalm Records on October 7th. For this album, the band got together with longtime collaborator and producer Michael ‘Elvis’ Baskette and whipped up a more than fitting follow up to the 2013 Alter Bridge offering, Fortress. You can pre-order The Last Hero via Nerve Gas, HERE.



Brisbane trio Columbus are gearing up for the release of their debut album Spring Forever via UNFD on August 26th. The young band has been making quite the impact off the back of some hectic Australian shows around the place and with an album tour of their own lined up for October, Columbus are preparing to be more on your radar than ever before. Take a look at the music video for their tune “Raindrop” in the meantime, below:



Another quality Brisbane act, We Set Sail, will be releasing their second studio album in Feel Nothing come September 26th! Recorded and mixed over the last two years by the band, the process has finally reached a satisfying end for the group and now it’s just a matter of time before it gets out to the fans. You can pre-order one of the special and limited edition vinyl copies of Feel Nothing via the band’s BandCamp HERE.



Melbourne prog metal group Acolyte will be releasing their debut album Shades of Black on August 5th, available for pre-order now! Heading into the studio to put this bad boy together late 2014, the band worked with award-wining producer Ben Ehrenberg (Shihad) throughout the sessions, spawning some incredible instrumental and vocally driven pieces. Acolyte launches Shades of Black at The Evelyn on August 5th, with more dates to be announced!


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT
Tags: , , , , ,