New Music Discoveries 29th March: Fat White Family, The Buoys, St Vincent and more

We’re celebrating the long weekend by adding eleven new tracks (an Easter bonus) to our Discovery Playlist on Spotify and Apple Music. This week’s Track of the Week is “What’s That You Say” the new single from English rock band Fat White Family.

“What’s That You Say”, which dropped on Monday, is the latest single from the band’s forthcoming fourth album Forgiveness Is Yours – out April 26th on Domino Records. It’s a striking track; moody, and delivered with a darkening sleazy swagger and style that calls to mind the likes of John Grant and Pulp.

“Flea” is the latest single from St Vincent’s upcoming album All Born Screaming (out April 26th), and like the rest of the album features Annie Clark on vocals and all instrumentation; except drums and bass, where she is joined by Dave Growl and Justin Meldal-Johnsen respectively. It’s a return to St Vincent’s rockier sound, with some searing guitar work and big vocals.

The Buoy’s new track, “Subject A”, is visceral, rocking and an absolute joy to listen to. It’s described by the band as “Subject A’ is a commentary on the male gaze, and the pressure to suppress yourself in order to be perceived as cool and attractive. Our ‘subject’ in this musical case study, is the quintessential fu** boy. The song celebrates all the things you now refuse to change about yourself in order to fit in to be seen as ‘cool’.”

Sydney singer-songwriter Ethan Jegers releases his sophomore single “Milky Way” this week. Produced by Eugene Dunn (Genie Baby and The Tin Knees), “Milky Way” is in part Jegers’ “reaction to the insecurities that pop up in his life”. There’s a lovely jangle to the guitars and some nice sing-along moments that do just enough to hide the undercurrent of subtle melancholy. This one really hits the spot.

Sydney’s Abbey Lane has released her bittersweet indie-pop track, “Constellations”, a song which tugs at the heartstrings. If you’ve ever been in love with the right person, but at the wrong time, then this is for you. Abbey has been making waves on the Sydney live music scene recently, so do keep an eye out and don’t miss the opportunity to catch her live if she comes your way.

“30 minutes early” is the poignant new single from London singer-songwriter DAVIDD. The song is the first of six singles to come from DAVIDD over the next twelve months, and as you’ll quickly gather is one that is incredibly personal to the singer-songwriter. There’s a beautiful simplicity to the track, which really allows those dual vocals to shine.

Jessica Pratt has dropped “World on a String”, the second single from her forthcoming fourth studio LP Here in the Pitch, which is due out on the 3rd of May. It’s a beautiful slice of intimate acoustic folk rock. It has a dreamy ’60s feel to it.

An incredible pop artist to emerge from Florida is Cloe Wilder.  “Afterglow” is a stunningly beautiful folk-pop tune, with a voice  reminiscent of Julia Stone. Complemented by the gentle vocals of Chicago born singer/songwriter NICOLOSI, it’s an absolute standout. Cloe has an EP being released on the 19th of April – we can’t wait to hear more from her.

The number one independent UK psych-rock act The Lovely Eggs return with new single “Memory Man” a gritty garage jam of distorted bass and dreamy guitars that’s just what’s needed to get you through this miserable East Coast weather.

We also had an exclusive video premiere from Angus Legg (“Drugs With My Friends”).

Catch all the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Fat White Family “What’s That You Say”
St Vincent “Flea”
The Buoys “Subject A”
Ethan Jegers “Milky Way”
Abbey Lane “Constellations”
DAVIDD “30 minutes early”
Jessica Pratt “World on a String”
ROE “Cinema”
Cloe Wilder “Afterglow”
The Lovely Eggs “Memory Man”
Angus Legg “Drugs With My Friends” [Exclusive Video Premiere]

Header Photo: Louise Mason