The Heiress won big at the 2018 Sydney Film Festival

June 29, 2018

The 65th Sydney Film Festival announced its award winners at the Closing Night Gala at the State Theatre earlier this month, with filmmaker Marcelo Martinessi taking home the prestigious Sydney Film Prize for his film The Heiress, selected from pool of 12 Official Competition films. The film was awarded the $60,000 cash prize for the […]

Read More

Sara West’s Mutt wins big at the 20th South Australian Screen Awards

April 23, 2018

The 20th South Australian Film Festival was held on Friday to celebrate the achievements of its peers, with the sold out gala event being hosted by Mat Kesting. Sara West’s critically acclaimed short film Mutt led the charge with four awards, for Best Directing (Sara West), Best Male Performance (Oscar Redding), Best Female Performance (Jordan […]

Read More

History in the making: here are all the winners from The 90th Academy Awards

March 5, 2018

Earlier today, The 90th Academy Awards in Hollywood celebrated not only 90 years of the most prestigious and recognised achievement in film, but an era of diversity, ultimately proving that power of film knows no boundaries. Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water had entered the ceremony as the overwhelming favourites with a whopping 13 nominations, […]

Read More

Greta Nash and Tadji Ulrich announced as Tropfest Australia and Trop Jr Winners

February 19, 2018

Tropfest Australia have announced in partnership with CGU Insurance, the winners of both Tropfest and Trop Jr 2018. 23 year-old Greta Nash was announced as the winner for Tropfest with her  film Two Piece, while 15 year-old Tadji Ulrich has been announced as the winner of the world’s largest short film festival for kids, Trop […]

Read More

Optus announces winners of the Connect5 short film competition

November 3, 2017

The Optus Connect5 campaign has rewarded to Australian filmmakers, Alexi Collins, Joshua Heaton and Michael O’Neill, $10,000 each as well as a trip Singapore in recognition of their outstanding efforts in the short film competition. The two films, Save My Soul and Just For a Moment, were made by Alexi Collins with Joshua Heaton, and Michael […]

Read More

Winners of the 49th annual Australian Writers’ Guild awards announced; ABC Thriller The Code makes history

October 17, 2016

ABC Cyber-thriller, The Code, steals the show at the 49th annual Australian Writers’ Guild Awards, becoming the only series in history to take home two Major Awards for both its seasons. More than twenty-five Australians were honoured at this year’s award show, which was hosted by The Chaser’s Julian Morrow. Leading Australian screenwriter, Shelley Birse, […]

Read More

Game of Thrones,Veep and O.J. win big at the 68th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards

September 19, 2016

The 68th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards was held today at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles California. The biggest winners of the night were Game of Thrones, Veep and The People v. O.J. Simpson, with the first two winning their Best Drama and Best Comedy awards for the second consecutive year. Both took out a […]

Read More