Track of the Day: PLGRMS “Disappear” (2020)


Sydney duo PLGRMS released their new single, “Disappeared”, on Friday. It is their first release since they were forced into a hiatus in early 2019. With singer-songwriter Jacob Pearson working to overcome his battle with chronic pain. Cut to 2020 and they’re back with the gloriously moody new single and some stunning black and white visuals for company. 

The track features production duties from Ross James, a.k.a. upsidedownhead, who has previously worked with Vera Blue, Thelma Plum and more. Whilst the in demand Dan Grech was enlisted to mix the single. It also features The Preatures’ Luke Davison on drums. 

According to the duo, “Disappear” represents a ‘note to self’, going on to say: 

“You want to take the first step, dive towards something new, but it’s so easy being resistant to change. Sometimes almost drowning is what it takes for us to learn how to swim.”

That statement appears to have been a big influence on the design brief for the accompanying visuals. The black and white aesthetic is striking, but certainly befitting of what is moody and evocative release. It might not be business as usual right now, but it’s exciting to be able to welcome the talented duo back.


“Disappear” is available now. Find PLGRMS on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Header Image by Emily Treacy 

Simon Clark

Books Editor. An admirer of songs and reader of books. Simon has a PhD in English and Comparative Literature. All errant apostrophes are his own.