New Music Discoveries 28th June: JD McPherson, Party Dozen, Little Quirks and more

For the last time this month we have updated our Discovery Playlist on Spotify and Apple Music with ten new tracks, including two we exclusively premiered. This week our Track of the Week is “Sunshine Getaway” from American rock ’n’ roll singer-songwriter JD McPherson.

“Sunshine Getaway” is the first single from McPherson’s forthcoming new album Nite Owls, which is out September 27th on New West Records. The album is his first album of original songs in six years, and follows the release of the critically acclaimed holiday album SOCKS in 2018 (which incidentally is one of our favourite holiday albums!)

If you’re familiar with McPherson’s work, you’ll know he’s no stranger to a bit of rockabilly or rock ’n’ roll. And whilst, you can still hear those elements on “Sunshine Getaway” there’s no denying that he’s started to cast his net that little bit wider into the genre pool, and this one really leans into the world of glam rock and T-Rex. A strutting, swaggering and stylish slice of rock that really hits that sweet spot. Roll on September so we can get the album’s other nine tracks!

“It’s Time” is the new single from Spoon bassist Benny Trokan. The track comes from Do You Still Think of Me? – Trokan’s debut record for Wick Records (the rock subsidiary of Daptone) which is out August 23rd. As you would expect from anything associated with Daptone, there’s an almost timeless quality to “It’s Time”. It takes its cues from the classic 60s rock and popular music, and you’ll be hard pressed not to be instantly transported back in time by that moody and atmospheric opening.

We are big fans of Party Dozen, the Sydney duo with Jonathon Boulet on drums, and Kirsty Tickle on saxophone. Their latest track, ”The Big Man Upstairs” is a little more subdued than much of their earlier work, and is infused with sweet vintage shoegaze vibes. In great news for fans, they’ve also announced a new album, Crime in Australia, and this song is setting the tone for what’s to come. There is an enlightening clip for “The Big Man Upstairs”, shedding light on the shenanigans of the Joh Bjelke-Petersen era in Queensland.  You can pre-order the album HERE – it’s out 6th September.

MJ Lenderman, the singer/songwriter from North Carolina is a very special talent. “She’s Leaving You” is the lead single from his new album, Manning Fireworks, which, as with Party Dozen’s new record, will also be released on the 6th September. He has a conversational lyrical style with upbeat melodies and killer guitars. It reminds me of Courtney Barnett, with a little bit of Conor Oberst thrown into the mix. A heady combination indeed.

Central Coast band Little Quirks return today with their beautiful and nostalgic new single “Caught In June”. Taking their inspiration from Phoebe Bridgers and boygenius, Little Quirks also love a good harmony and they’re utilised to full affect on this one. The vocals are simply beautiful and only emphasise the song’s emotive undercurrent and poignant bittersweet lyrics. Gorgeous!

“Southern Star” is the new single from Canadian singer-songwriter Leif Vollebekk. The track, which comes from his new album Revelation (out September 27th on Secret City/Remote Control Records), also happens to feature local favourite Angie McMahon on backing vocals. It’s absolutely stunning, one of those tracks where everything just comes together and hits just right. Vollebekk and McMahon’s vocals combine and contrast beautifully, and that steel guitar from Cindy Cashdollar is just the emotive icing on the cake! 

Melbourne’s Dan Kelly is flexing his creative muscle in “Burn Up The Trees”, a New Orleans rock’n’roll inspired party banger. They’ve cranked up the rockabilly feels on this, with his new backing band, Regional Crisis featuring Gus Agars, Ben Woolley and Dan Luscombe.
It’s the first single from his forthcoming album, GOLDFEELS. Indeed we believe it’s Dan’s first new music since 2015. You can catch Dan at the dangerously leisurely ‘Sunday Session’ at the Tote in Melbourne on July 28th, kicking off at 3.30 pm. It’ll be a heap of fun. Maybe book the Monday off. Get your tickets here.

Also added to the playlist is “Gimme The Wrench”, the latest single from Melbourne’s Slowly Slowly, as well as premieres from Have A Good Day (“Punch-Drunk in Love”) and Amanduh (“Sparks”).

Catch all the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

JD McPherson “Sunshine Getaway”
Benny Trokan “Do You Still Think of Me”
Party Dozen “The Big Man Upstairs”
MJ Lenderman “She’s Leaving You”
Little Quirks “Caught in June”
Leif Vollebekk “Southern Star”
Dan Kelly “Burn Up With The Trees”
Slowly Slowly “Gimme The Wrench”
Have A Good Day “Punch-Drunk in Love” [Exclusive Single Premiere]
Amanduh “Sparks” [Exclusive Single Premiere]

Header Image by Joshua Black Wilkins