Diablo 2 Resurrected gets its first technical alpha this weekend

Diablo 2 Resurrected technical alpha

Keep an eye on your Battle.net account: the first Diablo 2 Resurrected technical alpha begins this weekend. It will be the first opportunity for fans to go hands-on with one of the most hotly anticipated remasters in video game history.

The technical alpha will be single-player only, and will be exclusive to PC. It kicks off on Sunday, April 10, at 12:01am AEST/2:01am NZST, and will conclude on Tuesday, April 13, at 3:00am AEST/5:00am NZST.

Before everyone gets too excited, this is not an “open beta” in the marketing buzzword sense of the term. This is an actual stress test on a game still very much in development. As such, only a small number of players will be accepted into Diablo 2 Resurrected technical alpha. Those lucky few that get in can choose from three classes — Barbarian, Amazon, and Sorceress — and play through Acts 1 and 2. Blizzard says that there will be no level cap and that players are free to grind for runes to their heart’s content.

A multiplayer test will run later in the year, so keep your ear to the ground if you’re wanting to party up.

Diablo 2 Resurrected does not currently have a release date. If you haven’t signed up for the alpha and want to take a last-minute punt, you can do so right here.

David Smith

David Smith is the games and technology editor at The AU Review. He has previously written for PC World Australia. You can find him on Twitter at @RhunWords.

Tags: , , , ,