SBS Announces Australia’s Eurovision Jury Members


Eurovision has long been a cultural institution in the music world, aired to much fanfare on SBS each year. With 2015 being the first year that Australia will officially compete in the competition (go Guy Sebastian!!), SBS are pleased to announce that the first Australian Eurovision Jury has been officially called to order. Although the Australian public gets a chance to vote, this only accounts for 50% of the total score, with the other 50% coming from the decisions of the National Jury.

So get ready Australia, it’s time to meet your 2015 Jury, charged with the glamorous task of finding performers guilty of pop perfection…or of being criminally bad.

Amanda Pelman (Chair)

Amanda has a distinguished career in Australian music. She has worked at record labels where she signed a young Kylie Minogue, cast leading musicals (Priscilla Queen of the Desert), produced live events (Long Way to the Top) and judged music television programs (It Takes Two).

Danielle Spencer

Danielle began singing and learning piano at aged 4. As an adult she worked in film, television and theatre before releasing her debut album White Monkey in 2001. She toured internationally after the release of her second album in 2010 and is currently working on a new album.

Jake Stone

Jake boasts a varied and successful music career as a performer (with his band Bluejuice), music journalist (The Sydney Morning Herald, Rolling Stone Australia), radio host (triple J), songwriter and event host (MusicNSW, Vivid Festival).

Ash London

An MTV addict growing up, Ash has lived and breathed pop music since she first saw Britney cartwheel down the corridor in ‘Baby One More Time’. Since then, she’s spent majority of her 20s bringing pop music into the ears of Aussies on TV and radio as host of Take 40, The Loop and Shazam Top 20.

Australia’s Eurovision Spokesperson will be announced by SBS on May 18. SBS will broadcast both semi-finals and the grand final live on Wednesday May 20, Friday May 22 and Sunday May 24 from 5am. Each leg of the competition will be replayed 7.30pm each day.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT