Australian icons Sam Neill and George Miller join Tropfest Jury

Joining head of the Jury Rose Byrne for Tropfest’s 25-year anniversary will be actor Sam Neill (Hunt for the Wilderpeople), directors George Miller (Mad Max) and Rachel Perkins (Bran Nue Dae) and producer Bruna Papandrea (Gone Girl).

“It is an enormous honour to add these esteemed filmmakers to the Tropfest Jury in our 25th year,” said Tropfest Founder and Chair, John Polson. “We’re excited for our judges and audiences alike to experience the finalist films, produced by these young and brilliant minds. At a time when gender inequality is a major concern in the film industry at home and abroad, I’m also extremely proud that half of our finalists are women this year.”

More than 1.6 million people have attended a Tropfest event since it was established in 1993 by Founder and Festival Director, John Polson and the event today attracts a live national audience of around 70,000.

The 25th annual Tropfest will be held on Saturday, February 11, 2017 at the Riverside Theatre, Parramatta.

For all the info on Tropfest 2017, head over to the official website.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT