Indie Book Awards

Indie Book Awards announce 2022 shortlist

January 19, 2022

The Indie Book Awards have today announced a 24-strong shortlist, celebrating the very best in Australian literature, as chosen by the booksellers who have made a year of lockdowns and isolation a little more bearable for many. Established back in 2008, the Indie Book Awards recognises the contributions made by Aussie booksellers, and the impact […]

Read More
Indie Book Awards 2021

The Indie Book Awards continue to champion great Australian writing with their 2021 Longlist

December 9, 2020

This morning the longlist for the 2021 Indie Book Award has been announced. The award, which celebrates the best Australian writing, is made up of titles nominated by Australian independent booksellers. The Awards cover the best Australian book across six categories: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Debut Fiction, Illustrated Non-Fiction, Young Adult (12+) and Children’s. The Shortlist will […]

Read More
Indie Book Awards

2020 Indie Book Award winners announced

March 23, 2020

With Covid-19 causing mass disruption to everyday lives, including the cancellation of the Leading Edge Books Conference, the winners of 2020 Indie Book Awards have been announced online. This is the first time the Indie book Awards have been announced online.  The big winner for 2020 was Favel Parrett, who takes home The Indie Awards […]

Read More

Trent Dalton’s Boy Swallows Universe takes top honours at 2019 Indie Awards

March 18, 2019

Since 2008, the Indie Book Awards have been celebrating both the work of independent Aussie booksellers and the books they’ve raved about to customers over the previous year. Last night, the 2019 winners were announced, with Trent Dalton’s coming of age tale Boy Swallows Universe taking out the top honour of Book of the Year.Speaking […]

Read More

Indie Book Awards announce 2019 shortlist

January 15, 2019

Established in 2008, the Indie Book Awards recognise and celebrate both best in Australian writing as well as the country’s most passionate independent booksellers. This year’s nominations include Markus Zusak‘s Bridge of Clay, his first novel since global phenomenon The Book Thief was published in 2005 and Jessica Townsend‘s Wundersmith, the sequel to last year’s Nevermoor, which […]

Read More

Winners of the 2018 Indie Book Awards announced

March 28, 2018

The winners of the 2018 Indie Book Awards have been announced, with Jessica Townsend’s Nevermoor becoming the first children’s book to take out the main prize in the Indies’ ten year history. The awards recognise the important role indie booksellers and bookstores have in the success of homegrown authors, by engaging with customers, recommending works outside the […]

Read More