The State of Affairs: Latest Music Industry News – 11th November 2015

In This Issue: The American Music Awards announces its host and line-up,Red Bull prepares for the annual billy cart races with the help of NOVA 96.9, Rdio announces its new Artist To Watch and OpenLIVE launches the new Artist Dashboard as well as the latest ARIA charts.

Live on FOX8

Australia will be well represented when global pop sensations Five Seconds of Summer perform at the world’s biggest fan-voted awards show, the AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS, live from LA’s Nokia Theatre on Monday, November 23 at midday only on FOX8.

The AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS will once again feature a star-studded line-up of the music industry’s top artists and performances, while celebrating 43 years of AMA history and memorable moments.

Show host Jennifer Lopez  is also set to perform alongside One Direction, Selena Gomez, Nick Jonas, Demi Lovato and Carrie Underwood. Luke Bryan and Karen Fairchild of Little Big Town will deliver “all-star” duets along with Charlie Puth and Meghan Trainor


Red Bull Billy Cart crashes into Sydney this weekend

This Sunday, 60 fearless teams from across the country will be taking their place at the start line for the 2015 Red Bull Billy Cart. On 15th November, Centennial Parklands will come to life with friends, family and fans watching in awe, as beautifully crafted, hand-built billy carts race down the purpose-built race track, complete with launch ramps and obstacles, no doubt crashing spectacularly into hay bales along the way.

Nova 96.9’s breakfast team Fitzy & Wippa will also be tackling the track as part of the event’s celebrity race, with their distinctive creations – ‘Mr. Wippa’s Ice-cream Cart’ and ‘Fitzy’s Funny Car’.


Rdio announces City Calm Down as November Artist To Watch

Throughout November, Melbourne-based indie pop four-piece City Calm Down will be featured as Rdio’s Artist To Watch. With an extensive roster of local artists such as Alison Wonderland and Slum Sociable already on rotation, Rdio is pleased to welcome City Calm Down into the Artist To Watch family.

Specialising in a decidedly retro-new wave blend of electro-pop and post-punk that falls somewhere between Chvrches, Empire of the Sun, the Horrors, and Joy Division, City Calm Down features the talents of Jack Bourke, Sam Mulally, Jeremy Sonnenberg, and Lee Armstrong.


OpenLIVE launches the Artist Dashboard to the music community

OpenLIVE is thrilled to announce the launch of their much anticipated Artist Dashboard. Giving Artists the capacity to schedule their own recordings in venues where OpenLIVE’s MasterBuilder is installed, the dashboard facilitates a revolutionary way in which Artists can turn their live performances into live releases.

“This is completely new infrastructure for the Music Industry, and for the time being we’re letting bands and Artists sign up and use it for free” says Simon Tait, Audio and Technology Director at OpenLIVE.

“Capturing your recording is literally as simple as booking a plane ticket. We’ve engineered an automatic scheduling, recording, mixing, mastering and optimisation routine that produces very high quality recordings that some Artists have already turned into full albums. Check out Papa G & The Starcats on”

ARIA Charts


1. “Hello” – Adele
2. “Sorry”- Justin Beiber
3. “Downtown” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis featuring Eric Nally, Melle Mel, Kool Moe Dee, and Grandmaster Caz
4. “The Hills” – The Weeknd
5. “Never Forget You” – Zara Larrson and MNEK
6.  “Hotline Bling” – Drake
7. “Dessert” – Dawin
8. “Ocean Drive” – Duke Dumont
9. “What Do You Mean?” – Justin Beiber
10. “Focus “- Ariana Grande


1. If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – Elvis Presley
2. Eleven – Tina Arena
3. Triple J’s Like A Version 11 – Various Artists
4. Def Leppard – def Leppard
5. 1989 – Taylor Swift
6. Sounds Good Feels Good – 5 Seconds of Summer
7. First Comes The Night – Chris Isaak
8. Beauty Behind The Madness – The Weeknd
9. The Perfect Crime – Cold Chisel
10. X – Ed Sheeran


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT