The 13th AMP moves to Melbourne again in 2018; Sampa the Great, Jen Cloher & more up for top prize

The Australian Music Prize has revealed its anticipated shortlist for 2018, following a run of meetings in Sydney earlier this month by the prize’s judging panel, helmed by AMP Chairperson and Hoodoo Gurus frontman, Dave Faulkner.

The panel this year welcomed producer Charles Fisher, musician Melinda Schneider and CMC’s Group Program Manager Tim Daley to the fold, as the panel deliberated on and whittled the longlist down to the final nine – a whopping task.

The shortlisted artists who now find themselves up for the coveted $30,000 cash prize courtesy of the PPCA include Jen CloherSampa the Great and more – check this impressive list of albums out below.


BEACHES – Second of Spring
DARCY BAYLIS – Intimacy & Isolation
JEN CLOHER – Jen Cloher
JORDAN RAKEI – Wallflower
PAUL KELLY – Life is Fine
SAMPA THE GREAT – Birds and the BEE9
THE VAMPIRES – The Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke

The official announcement will be made at an event held in Melbourne (for the second year) on March 9th, coinciding with news that Melbourne will host the AMP through into 2019 as well.

For more information about The AMP, visit the official website, here!


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT