Nominees unveiled for the 2017 NT Song of the Year; ceremony to take place in Darwin this July

There are many things to love about Darwin in July. The cooler weather of the dry season, the mango juice from the Mindil Markets (not to mention the paw paw concoctions at Parap Markets on the weekends, too), the general laid back attitude that is infectious when visiting…the list goes on.

One of our favourite parts about this time of year in Darwin is the NT Song of the Year awards. Taking the spotlight ahead of huge events in the National Indigenous Music Awards and the Darwin Festival in August, NT Song takes its opportunity to proudly celebrate the songwriting community of the Northern Territory – established and currently emerging. It’s an event unlike any other in the country and when you’re looking at the most isolated areas in the country, the opportunity to be introduced to some new music and exciting musicians that may otherwise be left undiscovered, is one we never pass up.

Today, the nominees have been announced for 2017’s NT Song of the Year, with the winners due to be revealed at the official awards ceremony, to be held at the Museum and Art Gallery of the NT on July 8th.

Judges narrowed down entries from right across the Northern Territory down to the bunch of finalists we see below across categories including Rock, Folk, Pop and Electronic, as well as the special category of ‘TourismNT Territory Song’ and ‘Youth’.

Says MusicNT’s Executive Director Mark Smith, “The judges’ comments reflected how much the standard has grown over the last few years and the successful tracks reflect what is so good about the NT music scene.”

Check out the full list of nominees below – voting for the People’s Choice Award is open from 10am, June 22nd and closes at 4pm, July 3rd. Head here for more information.



“Arrow Holder” – At The Dakota
(Dylan Podsiadly, Paul Brandis, Zac East, Jay Wright, Jaxon De Santis)

“Drop It Down” – Lonely Boys
(Ambrose Daniels, Kasley Daniels, Bert Rami)

“Lonely Boys Anthem” – Lonely Boys
(Ambrose Daniels, Kasley Daniels, Bert Rami)

“Say You Want To” – Pole Top Rescue
(Stuart Higlett, Lachlan Parsons, Kieran Parsons, Ben Rogers)


“Crying Song” – Dhapanbal Yunupingu
“Make Your Own Mistakes” – Caiti Baker
“Sittin’ Pretty” – Rachel Younger
“The Sea Has Risen” – Sam Carmody


“Compass” – Saltwater Band
(David Yunupingu, Charlie Yunupingu)

“Ngabaju (Grandmothers Song)” – Kardajala Kirridarra
(Eleanor Dixon, Janey Dixon, Beatrice Lewis, Marc Peckham)

“Ngurra (Rain Song)” – Kardajala Kirridarra
(Eleanor Dixon, Janey Dixon, Beatrice, Marc Peckham)

“Something Left to Lose” – Adam Scriven


“Action is My Word” – KnD
(Tristrum Watkins, Corinna Hall, Galen Cole)

“Cloud9” – Baker Boy ft. Kian
(Danzal Baker, Kian Brownfield, Tobias Fakahi)

“Moleskin” – Skank & Shake
(James Shakeshaft, Hugh Winterflood)

“Not Givin’ It Up” – Black Bird
(Atom Abdalla)


“Desert Highway” – Apakatjah
(Jonathan Lindsey Tjapaltjarri Hermawan, Dion Forrester)

“Early Morning” – Adam Scriven

“Northern Residential” – Col Infinity
(Huu Loc Nguyen)

“Open Road” – Tom E Lewis


“Can’t Change Your Name” – Tom E Lewis

“Deep Dark Down” – Ms Xavia
(Xavia Nou)

“Heavy On My Heart” – Caiti Baker
(Caiti Baker, James Mangohig)

“I Can’t Make It On My Own” – Tom E Lewis


“Kakadu” – Dhapanbal Yunupingu

“Mari Wurrapa (Lady Whale)” – Dhapanbal Yunupingu

“Winter in Darwin” – Kimberley Koole
(Kim Koole)

“Yurra Rockhole” – Central Desert Band
(Ronald Morton)


“Generation Like” – Clever Monkey
(Callum Munro, Craig Ninness, Sam Washusen, Shane Jovanovic)

“Revelations” – Rigour Marauders
(Dale Gladigau)

“Thanks For The Day” – BADMATHS
(Ashley McDonell, Tom Birch, Alan Dyer, Sam Hill)

“Thumbtack” – Clever Monkey
(Callum Munro, Craig Ninness, Sam Washusen, Shane Jovanovic)


“A Baru in New York (Yolanda Be Cool Remix)” – Skinnyfish Sound System
(Geoffery Gurrumul Yunupingu, Matthew Handley, Andrew Stanley)

“Gold” – The Rowing Club
(Paul Brandis, Dylan Podsiadly, Ben Allen)

“Steer Into the Storm” – Pulzanti
(Ermin Nurovic)

“Those Moments” – Pulzanti
(Ermin Nurovic)


“Castaway” – Phoebe Wear

“Infinity” – Serina Pech

“Kevin” – Serina Pech

“Leader” – JUICE C.A.
(Felise Naufahu)



This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT