Nominees revealed for the 2020 National Live Music Awards as public voting opens

The nominees for the 5th annual National Live Music Awards have been announced, which will be held on Sunday 20 October 2020 – both virtually and physically.

Sampa the Great has received the most recognition, with three nominations – Live Act of the Year, Live Voice of the Year and Best Live Act in VIC – plus an individual nomination for her collaborator Silentjay. The Melbourne-based artist released her debut album The Return to international acclaim last year.

Rock acts WAAX and Violent Soho also top the bill, receiving three nominations respectively.

Established names including Warren Ellis, The Go-Between’s Lindy Morrison (nominated here for her work with Alex The Astronaut) and DMA’s are receiving nominations for the first time.

Newcomers including Grace Barbé, Lime Cordiale, Ruby Fields, Ceres, Caitlin Harnett & The Pony Boys, Aya Yves, Sly Withers and Slag Queens are also receiving first time nominations.

Two new categories appear as part of this year’s nominations: The Journalist Award presented by The Music Network, which recognises an outstanding contribution to live music journalism in Australia and International Tour of the Year presented by Oztix.

National Live Music Award Board Member, Katie Noonan, expresses pride over this year’s “truly world class” nominations. “Once again, I am inspired and buoyed by the quality and diversity of nominations for the 2020 National Live Music Awards.”

With the music industry needing support more than ever, Noonan believes that this year’s nominations provide optimism for the sector’s future. “The phoenix will rise from the ashes of this pandemic, and our amazing Australia music will be the soundtrack to its new journey!”

Various special achievement awards will be revealed leading up to the event, including a special award presented by Musicians Making a Difference (MMAD), the national not-for-profit organisation.

The induction of this year’s Live Legend Award has been postponed until next year’s ceremony, where both the 2020 and 2021 winners will be presented. Organisers say that was done to “allow the winners to receive the full accolades they deserve”.

Larry Heath, Director of the NLMAs, welcomed this year’s nominations, stating “It’s an honour to reveal the NLMA’s Class of 2020, a group who reflect a year that is split between normality and the exact opposite – but one that deserves to be celebrated from start to end – for incredible performances, ingenuity and perseverance.”

Heath also hopes that this year’s ceremony will provide a “glimmer of good news” in an otherwise challenging year. “From the musician to the sound engineer, the venue owner to the festival booker. Our thoughts are with all of you, the entire Australian live industry – the best damn live scene in the world.”

Select categories can be voted on by the public, and this runs from today, 8th September, until Thursday 24th September.

The full list of nominees and voting information can be viewed HERE.

Ed Hirst

I'm either listening to music, writing about music, or writing my own music! Keep up to date with my latest projects @edhirsty