New Music Discoveries 28th April: Ethan P. Flynn, Hannah Cameron, Siobhan Cotchin, and more

It’s the last Friday of April and we have ten more tracks to add to our Discovery: The Best New Music playlist on Spotify and Apple Music. Our Track of the Week this Friday is “Used To It” the new single from London-based musician, songwriter and collaborator Ethan P. Flynn.

The single is Flynn’s first solo music of 2023 and follows the acclaimed 2022 EP Universal Deluge. The track is described as a celebration of the feeling of finally belonging, with Flynn emphatically declaring in the song, “This is the place I came to in my dream. You’ll get used to it, I’m sticking around.”

It’s a wonderfully playful, empowering and experimental piece, with a distinctive vocal performance and a few musical diversions. If you’re in the UK for The Great Escape next month be sure to check him out and find out for yourself why Slowthai considers him to be as great as Bowie.

Naarm’s Hannah Cameron  has just released her first single in three years, with the beautiful “Take The Blame”. Hannah is a wonderful story teller, consumate guitarist and a voice that melts. On “Take The Blame” Hannah ponders the challenges of making those tough decisions, and writes:  “wishing that someone would make life’s hard choices for me because it feels easier to take the blame for someone else’s bad decision than to know that I was the one who made it.”. This track is intoxicating – please release more music soon Hannah.

“If God Is A Man” is the fierce new track from award winning West Australian artist Siobhan Cotchin. Co-written with members of The Money War and Paige Valentine, the track is from Cotchin’s forthcoming sophomore EP Miss Reckless (out May 31st). Although she’s been sitting on the track for around a year it still remains unfortunately relevant, inspired as it is by the hatred and discrimination Cotchin has witnessed around the world, especially towards women and LGBTQIA people. It’s passionate, political and rocking. You can catch Cotchin across May and June as she heads out on the road supporting KINGSWOOD.

Indie-folk singer/songwriter Harrison Storm has released the reflective and delicate “Warm A Cold Heart”. Harrison has a number of EP’s under his belt, and this will be on his much anticipated forthcoming LP. As with his previous releases, the track is infused with an intimacy and honesty, with a warm melody running through it. His songs have been placed on some killer Spotify playlists in recent times, earning him over 350 million streams.

Sydney 5-piece The Sunday Estate have been making waves with their melodic indie-rock for the past few years.  “Make It Right” is another golden slice from the band, showcasing sparkling guitars, building to a cathartic chorus that oozes emotion and honesty. About the track, lead singer Conor O’Reilly shares “Make it Rightis about that realisation, that your problems are your own – yes you can be upset, but hurting others while trying to heal yourself just creates a spiteful cycle where no one wins.” .The band has a number of gigs coming up – check their Facebook page for updates.

It’s been a big week for garage rock outfit Girl & Girl who have released their latest single, “All I See”. They have been signed by indie label Sub Pop, which boasts stable-mates such as Father John MistyWeyes BloodRolling Blackouts Coastal Fever and Orville Peck. The band has also announced an East Coast tour in June and July. Head HERE for more details. It might be your last chance to see them at such intimate venues.

Also added to the playlist this week are new tracks from Norwegian singer-songwriter Birds are better, Canberra punk newcomers st.sinner, and Detroit rockers Kind Beast, with their new single “Highway Madness”.

Finally, we also have an exclusive premiere from Ryan Martin John, the title-track from his album, Goodness Gracious Graceless.

Catch the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Ethan P. Flynn “Used to it”
Hannah Cameron “Take The Blame”
Siobhan Cotchin “If God Is A Man”
Harrison Storm “Warm a Cold Heart”
Birds are better “Seven In The Morning”
Kind Beast “Highway Madness”
The Sunday Estate “Make it Right”
st.sinner “Alone Together”
Girl and Girl “All I See”
Ryan Martin John “Goodness Gracious Graceless”  [Exclusive Album Premiere]

Header Photo by Aliyah Otchere