New Music Discoveries 22nd September: Hana & Jessie-Lee’s Bad Habits, Bleachers, and more

Ten more tracks have been added to our Discovery playlist on Spotify and Apple Music, including two tracks we had exclusive premieres for earlier in the week. We’re injecting a bit of extra twang into the playlist this week with “The Tallest of Tales”, the new single from Hana & Jessie-Lee’s Bad Habits – our Track of the Week.

“The Tallest of Tales” is the second single to be released from the The Bad Habits’ forthcoming second album. The swaggering and often soulful track was initially written whilst travelling through Nashville in 2016, with the first version of the song recorded to a $20 instant vinyl record in the booth at Third Man Records. Lyrically, it has all you could ever want from an Alt-Country number – bad dates, bad decisions and a little bit of heartbreak. Add in Hana’s powerhouse vocals and Jessie-Lee’s captivating guitar playing and you’re onto a winner.

Hanna & Jessie-Lee’s Bad Habits are hitting the road for a handful of select dates across Victoria and New South Wales over the next couple of months, so keep an eye out for a live show that’s not to be missed. Find more information HERE.

Wollongong indie-rockers Lizzie Jack and the Beanstalks have showcased their range in their latest track to drop, the intimate and confessional “Dumb Decisions”. It vividly tracks the tale of two long-standing friends hooking up. Is it a good idea? Often it proves to be one of those “Dumb Decisions”. It’s a gripping tale, and you will be able to hear it live if you are heading to Yours & Owls next month, or at La La La’s in Wollongong on the 27th of this month.

“Belt of Orion” is the latest single from Danish singer-songwriter Ayna Errboe. Only his third release, the track is firmly rooted in the sounds of the folk revival of the 1960s and 70s, and almost revels in its dreamy and earthy vibe. But, it’s also quite playful, with Errboe not afraid to experiment with tempos and styles, highlighting a versatility hard learned busking and hitchhiking on the streets of Europe.

Bleachers have continued on with their feel-good music with “Modern Girl”, their first new song since their last album, the upbeat and celebratory Take the Sadness Out of Saturday NightThis is another golden slice that showcases frontman Jack Antonoff’s gift for creating high-octane pop music, it’s an enticing entree to their next album.

Hotel is the solo project for Sydney writer and producer Andy Tudehope. His songs drag you to the dance floor, crisscrossing genres from electronic, punk, rock and rnb. His latest track to be released today is “Casa Del Disco”, which features his good mate Nicholas Hutt, lead singer of Johnny Hunter. The track features some moody sax, which is totally fine by us.

Melbourne’s Aydin Sayar is back with his new single “Day By Day”. The Naarm/Melbourne writer & producer reflects on depression in a warm light – literally, just watch the video – with his latest offering. Laid back vocals swim through gentle acoustic guitar and percussion in a comforting message of self-forgiveness.

“Dreams” is the new single from independent French composer and musician The Art of the Sun. The track is the first single from his concept album Imaginary Journeys, which is set for release on December 8th. The album, which is split into four parts, is influenced by the music that has soundtracked his life and spans multiple genres. “Dreams” is a powerful, and almost overwhelming, slice of electro-funk influenced by the iconic 1972 Wattstax Funk Festival. It’s full of energy and the snippets of archival sounds really give it added power and poignancy.

Finally, we have two exclusive premieres from Jack Anthony and Baby Velvet.

Catch the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Hana & Jessie-Lee’s Bad Habits “The Tallest of Tales”
Lizzie Jack and the Beanstalks “Dumb Decisions”
Ayna Errboe “Belt of Orion”
Bleachers “Modern Girl”
Jet Vesper “Fresh With The Force”
Hotel  “Casa Del Disco” ft. Nicholas
Aydin Sayar “Day By Day”
The Art of the Sun “Dreams”
Jack Anthony “Call My Name” [Exclusive Single Premiere]
Baby Velvet “Wild Cherry Tree Drive” [Exclusive Video Premiere]