New Music Discoveries 18th August: Our Broken Garden, Allison Russell, Lisa Caruso and more

This week we have added another ten tracks to our Discovery playlist on Spotify and Apple Music, including one track we premiered exclusively earlier in the week.

Dream pop group Our Broken Garden are only a week away from dropping their new album, Blind, and this week have released the final teaser, “Rain”, featuring the gorgeous vocals of John Grant, and is our Track of the Week. This will be the first album for the Danish group since 2010.

Allison Russell has shared her latest single, “Snakelife” from her recently announced new album, The Returner. Those that were lucky enough to catch her Australian shows earlier this year were raving, and this track demonstrates why.

Brighton-based feminist electro-punk trio Clt Drp have released “I See My Body Through You”. The band continues to explore themes of queerness and heartbreak, from very personal perspectives through a bold electronic soundscape.

Del Water Gap, is the project for Brookly-based songwriter and producer S. Holden Jaffe. This week he has released the emotionally charged “Losing You”.

Sydney’s Lisa Caruso today releases “Your Show”, the second track from her forthcoming EP, Stretching Out, which is due to be released on the 15th of September. The track is a call to do life your own way, ignore other people’s expectations and to be yourself. With the unmistakable and persuasive vocals of Lisa, who are we to argue.

Cranking things up a notch, Naarm/Melbourne-based surf-punk outfit Going Swimming have released “All Dressed Up To Cry”. It’s chaotic and fun, with some stellar guitars thrown into the mix.

Hobart’s post-punk duo The Native Cats have released “My Risks is Art”, the first single from their fifth album, The Way On Is The Way Off, due out on 10th November, 2023.

“Afterlife” from Shangrila is the first new music in over a year from these Perth alt-rockers and comes as a big singalong about finding yourself. Thunderous drums, chunky riffs over picked melodies and passionate vocals lift it even higher than their last EP.

Finally, we have an exclusive premiere from Wandering Blind.

Catch the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Our Broken Garden “Rain” ft. John Grant
Allison Russell
“Snake Life”
Clt Drp “I See My Body Through You”
Del Water Gap “Losing You”
Lisa Caruso “Your Show”
Going Swimming “All Dressed up to Cry”
Bonnacons of Doom “Facing”
The Native Cats “My Risks Is Art”
Shangrila “Afterlife”
Wandering Blind “Only A Matter of Time” [Exclusive Single Premiere]