Mac DeMarco shares new music with the announcement of new LP This Old Dog

Canadian song writer and cool cat Mac DeMarco has announced his return with his new LP, This Old Dog, his third studio album up for grabs in May. It was only a few weeks ago when the indie-rocker teased his fans on Instagram, saying he had finished mixing a hidden This Old Dog.


Giving his audience a taste of his new work, DeMarco has released the first two tracks off his second LP titled “My Old Man” and “This Old Dog”.

Alongside his new album DeMarco released a bunch of tour dates around the US and the UK, including his appearance at Coachella in April. Although no tour dates have been announced for Australia, it is most likely we’ll be seeing DeMarco very soon after he toured Another One in January 2016.

Fans are expected to hear a different sound from DeMarco since his last record Another One EP in 2015, and his first LP Salad Days in 2014. “My Old Man” embraces a fresh new look for the Canadian act, offering fans with an acoustic spark. “The majority of this album is acoustic guitar, synthesizer, some drum machine, and one song is electric guitar. So this is a new thing for me,” says DeMarco in a statement.

Moving from Queens, New York to Los Angeles during the production of his This Old Dog can be said to reflect his new sound, but we’ll have to wait and see the rest of DeMarco’s work to tell the full extent of difference.

This Old Dog is available to pre-order now (Captured Tracks) and will be ready for fans to preview on May 5th.

This Old Dog Track List

  1. “My Old Man”
  2. 2.”This Old Dog”
  3.  “Baby You’re Out”
  4. “For the First Time”
  5. “One Another”
  6. “Still Beating”
  7. “Sister”
  8. “Dreams From Yesterday”
  9. “A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes”
  10. “One More Love Song”
  11. “On the Level”
  12. “Moonlight on the River”
  13. “Watching Him Fade Away”



This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT