Jen Cloher, Amy Shark, Gang of Youths & more up for APRA Song of the Year

The APRA Song of the Year nominees have been revealed this week, with 20 tunes penned by Australian songwriters up for the main title. With the results being announced in Sydney in April, the APRA Song of the Year has been decided upon by a panel of industry judges, whose task it is to now whittle this 20 down to a final five.

Featured in this year’s Top 20 are the likes of Jen CloherAmy SharkGang of YouthsKing Gizzard & The Lizard WizardBernard Fanning and more. All the nominated artists have automatically gone into the draw to win a stack of prizes including a studio session at Studios 301, a $1000 travel vouchers, a $1000 Levi’s retail voucher, a headphones/pro audio package and two tickets to this year’s APRA Music Awards.

For the full list of nominees, scroll down!


Stella Donnelly “Boys Will Be Boys”
Writer/s: Stella Donnelly

All Our Exes Live in Texas “Cadillac”
Writer/s: Katherine Wighton, Hannah Crofts, Georgia Mooney, Elana Stone

Alex Lahey “Everyday’s The Weekend”
Writer/s: Alex Lahey

Jessica Mauboy “Fallin'”
Writer/s: Kayla Bonnici, Louis Schoorl, Peter Harding

Paul Kelly “Firewood and Candles”
Writer/s: Paul Kelly, William Miller

Jen Cloher “Forgot Myself
Writer/s: Jen Cloher

Dan Sultan “Hold it Together”
Writer/s: Dan Sultan, Alexander Burnett

Bernard Fanning “Isn’t it a Pity”
Writer/s: Bernard Fanning

Vance Joy “Lay It On Me”
Writer/s: James Keogh, Dave Bassett

Vera Blue “Mended”
Writer/s: Andrew Macken, Thomas Macken, Samuel Telford, Celia Pavey, Adam Anders

Tash Sultana “Murder to the Mind”
Writer/s: Tash Sultana

Ainslie Wills “Running Second”
Writer/s: Ainslie Wills, Lawrence Folvig

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard “Sleep Drifter”
Writer/s: Stu Mackenzie

Angus & Julia Stone “Snow”
Writer/s: Angus Stone, Julia Stone

Alex Cameron “Stranger’s Kiss”
Writer/s: Alex Cameron

6LACK “That Far”
Writer/s: Trevor Slade, Daniel Cartisano, Ricardo Valentine, Lucian Blomkamp

Amy Shark “Weekends”
Writer/s: Amy Billings

Gang of Youths “What Can I Do if The Fire Goes Out?”
Writer/s: David Le’aupepe

360 ft. Hein Cooper “Yesterday”
Writer/s: Kaelyn Behr, Matthew Colwell, Nicholar Martin, Hein Cooper

Tim Rogers “Youth”
Writer/s: Tim Rogers

For more information on the APRA Music Awards, visit here.

Photo of Jen Cloher by Tajette O’Halloran.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT