Gawurra & Gurrumul win big at the 2016 National Indigenous Music Awards!

The National Indigenous Music Awards took place in Darwin on Friday night, with a huge event hitting the Darwin Amphitheatre and celebrating Indigenous musicians, both established and emerging.

Gurrumul won the NIMA for Artist of the Year for the fifth time running, while up and coming star Gawurra took home a bunch of awards himself including New Talent of the Year, Album of the Year, Cover Art of the Year and Film Clip of the Year. It’s been a huge year for Gawurra, whose album Ratja Yaliyali has been captivated by many around the country. Similarly, the effect Gurrumul has continued to have audiences globally most recently with The Gospel Album has been immeasurable.

Statesman and Elder, Kutcha Edwards, was inducted into the NIMA Hall of Fame for his contribution to music and his community for over 30 years. A stellar live music program including performances by Yirrmal and his father, Elder Witiyana Marika (Yothu Yindi), the Rirratjingu Clan‘s special traditional dance in honouring Roy Marika (‘The Father of Land Rights’), Rayella‘s rendition of “They Took The Children Away” and of course, Gawurra’s performance of the Goanna Band‘s original, “Solid Rock”.

Kahl Wallis performed a taste of his upcoming solo material on the night in “Children of the Revolution”, while triple j Unearthed competition winner Kuren made his Darwin debut at the event. Djuki Mala performed a specially choreographed routine to the Yothu Yindi classic “Treaty”, while other highlight performances were delivered by the likes of A.B. OriginalLonely Boys and David Spry.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Artist of the Year
Gurrumul Yunupingu

Album of the Year

Song of the Year
“The Children Came Back” – Briggs

Written by Gurrumul Yunupingu, Archie Roach, Corey McGregor, James Mangohig and Adam Briggs
Performed by Briggs, Dewayne Everettsmith & Gurrumul

New Talent of the Year

Cover Art
Ratja Yaliyali – Gawurra

Designed By: Jalyay JAJA Thompson

Film Clip
“Ratja Yaliyali” – Gawurra

Directed & Produced By: Pippa Samaya

Community Music Clip
“Break The Silence”
Ngukurr Community, Indigenous Hip Hop Projects, White Ribbon

Traditional Song of the Year
“Two Sisters Journey” – Ishmael Marika


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT