Flying Lotus previews new album, drops first single with David Lynch

Experimental producer Flying Lotus is prepping his first studio album since 2014’s brilliant You’re Dead!, and from our first preview, it’s going to one hell of a bizarre ride.

The prolific artist has teamed up with Twin Peaks mastermind David Lynch to, confidently, release a pretty non-music first single called “Fire is Coming”. It’s less of your typical excursion into genre-bending soundscapes than it is a reason to get David Lynch to spin one of his signature freaky avant-garde stories over a mesmerising video clip co-directed by Lotus and none other than Salad Fingers weirdo David Firth.

Kids in wolf costumes jumping around a house precede a tale of a young boy named Tommy, narrated by Lynch, who seems to receive a strange phone call that ends up distressing his mother. It’s at this point in the story, Lotus’ ambient soundtrack starts picking up, a quiet storm that casts a low trap beat over a refrain of “Fire is Coming!”. An eerie warning for sure.

Most exciting is the tracklist for the forthcoming album, titled Flamagra and due for a May 24th release. It’ll be 27-tracks long and will feature a bevvy of talent from all generations, from legend George Clinton and raspy soul’d Anderson .Paak, to neo-jazz wunderkind Tundercat and bankable electro-pop wizards Little Dragon. Full tracklist below.

1. “Heroes”
2. “Post Requisite”
3. “Heroes In A Half Shell”
4. “More” (feat. Anderson .Paak)
5. “Capillaries”
6. “Burning Down The House” (feat. George Clinton)
7. “Spontaneous” (feat. Little Dragon)
8. “Takashi”
9. “Pilgrim Side Eye”
10. “All Spies”
11. “Yellow Belly” (feat. Tierra Whack)
12. “Black Balloons Reprise” (feat. Denzel Curry)
13. “Fire Is Coming” (feat. David Lynch)
14. “Inside Your Home”
15. “Actually Virtual” (feat. Shabazz Palaces)
16. “Andromeda”
17. “Remind U”
18. “Say Something”
19. “Debbie Is Depressed”
20. “Find Your Own Way Home”
21. “The Climb” (feat. Thundercat)
22. “Pygmy”
23. “9 Carrots” (feat. Toro y Moi)
24. “FF4”
25. “Land Of Honey” (feat. Solange)
26. “Thank U Malcolm”
27. “Hot Oct.”

Chris Singh

Chris Singh is the Deputy-Editor-At-Large of the AU review, loves writing about travel and hospitality, and is partial to a perfectly textured octopus. You can reach him on Instagram: @chrisdsingh.

Tags: , ,