Album News Weekly: 6th October 2016.

This week in album news, we’ve got some heavy metal releases alongside electro as the likes of Graves and I Prevail announce their album pre-orders along with Zeds DeadFriday have announced their brand new EP, while Jamie Lidell prepares to release album number six. Get amongst it below…



Wollongong heavy metal group Graves are due to release their debut album Monster through Greyscale Records on October 21st. Having spent much of this year on the road, the band hit the studio to record with Sonny Truelove on the album which is set to be a well-awaited follow up to their solid EP release Pestilence and subsequent successful single releases since. You can pre-order Monster on iTunes HERE and order physical bundles HERE.



Speaking of album pre-orders, I Prevail now have their new album Lifelines up for ordering too! The album drops on October 21st, with the hard rock four piece having already begun generating momentum for the record with their singles “Scars”, “Stuck In Your Head” and “Come and Get It” all going down well with fans and industry. For more information on how to get your hands on it via pre-order, click HERE.



The singer songwriter/ultimate dream that is Robbie Miller releases his sophomore EP Closer To Home on October 28th. Following on from the impressive The Faster The Blood Slows EP, this one goes further in demonstrating Miller’s foray into some lush sonic soundscapes as he blends alternative electro with folk.



With two EPs already successfully in the bag, Sydney group The Tambourine Girls have announced the release of their debut self-titled album, due out November 4th. Bringing together 60’s Britpop, folk-rock and blues influences, the music these guys have been making has been catchy and entertaining to listen to so far – anticipating this album next month is going to be worth the wait, we’re sure.



Montreal group Duchess Says are preparing to release their new album Sciences Nouvelles on October 14th via Slovenly Recordings. Recorded in their own studio in Montreal, the album is jam packed of synth-punk goodness. English and French language both feature, while musical influences ranging from the likes of Devo to Teenage Jesus also present themselves. The track list is below – you can find out more about Sciences Nouvelles HERE.

  1. Inertia
  2. Inertia Pt II
  3. I Repeat Myself
  4. Negative Thoughts
  5. Poubelle
  6. Travaillez
  7. Talk In Shapes
  8. I’m An Idea
  9. Pink Coffin (FCC)
  10. The Family Physicians



Jamie’s sixth studio album Building A Beginning is out on October 10th via Jajulin Records and already, the momentum surrounding it is peaking. With the release of new tune “Julian”, Lidell has both paid tribute to his son via song and given fans another cool insight into his new album. Already hailed as some of Lidell’s best music to date, Building A Beginning is available for last minute pre-orders HERE.



Canadian electronic duo Zeds Dead are releasing their debut album Northern Lighs via their own label Deadbeats, and also through Caroline Australia, on October 14th. Having enlisted the likes of Rivers CuomoJadakissDiplo and Twin Shadow on the album, there’s a fairly solid indicator for ya that this one is going to be a diverse jump down the electro rabbit hole. Check out the set list below.

  1. Stardust (ft. Twin Shadow)
  2. Zeds Ded x Diplo – Blame (ft. Elliphant)
  3. Lights Out (ft Atlas)
  4. Too Young (ft. Rivers Cuomo, Pusha T)
  5. DNA (ft. Jadakiss, Styles P)
  6. Me No Care
  7. Zeds Dead x NGHTMRE – Frontlines (ft. GG Magree)
  8. Already Done (ft. Ghetts)
  9. Dimemories
  10. Where Did That Go
  11. Neck and Neck (ft. Dragonette)
  12. This Is Me (ft. Lips)
  13. Zeds Dead x Charlotte OC – Symphony
  14. Slow Down (ft. Jenna Pemkowski)



Melbourne dream pop group Friday will be releasing their new EP I Want In Your Head next month on November 25th! Their new single “Everything (Is You)” is the first taste from the band’s EP offering, recorded and produced out of their Collingwood studio. Having continued to emerge further out on to the live front as a name to be taking note of throughout 2016, Frida will undoubtedly be thrust further onto the radars of many once I Want In Your Head is released. It’ll be available via the band’s Bandcamp, Spotify, Apple Music and iTunes.



This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT