Album News Weekly: 23rd September 2016.

This week in album news: The Weeknd announces Beauty Behind The Madness’ successor, Kings of Leon return with WALLS, Warpaint celebrate their album release, KLP prepares her EP and more!



The Weeknd has this week announced the follow up to his acclaimed Beauty Behind the Madness album in 2017’s Starboy. The album is out this November 25th and has already spawned the title track, featuring Daft Punk. You can pre-order the album HERE – Starboy will be released via XO/Republic Records, through Universal Music in Australia.


Photo: Dan Winters.
Photo: Dan Winters.

Yep, they’re back. The band’s new album Walls is now available for pre-order HERE  in anticipation of its October 14th release, while the album’s title track has already been released to positive response. Already featured as Zane Lowe’s “World Record of the Day”, “Walls” marks a return to form for Kings of Leon, it’s going to be interesting to see what the rest of the album shapes up like! The track list has also been made available – check it below:

  1. Waste A Moment
  2. Reverend
  3. Around The World
  4. Find Me
  5. Over
  6. Muchacho
  7. Conversation Piece
  8. Eyes on You
  9. Wild
  10. WALLS



The Warpaint ladies have released their highly anticipated third album Heads Up today! Released via Rough Trade Records/Remote Control, the band is a culmination of writing and recording by the band after 2015 was spent exploring other projects outside the band. Grab the album HERE.



Hush 16: A Piece of Quiet is the new album from Lior and The Idea Of North – a brand new collaboration between the award winning Aussie artists, announced this week! Working with internationally renowned composer Elena Kats-CherninHush 16: A Piece of Quiet was also written in conjunction with patients at the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne, the 15th musical record in The Hush Foundation‘s collection. The Hush Foundation is composed for and played in hospitals and operating theatres worldwide to ease situations of high stress for kids undergoing cancer treatment.



Florida group Merchandise have released their new album, A Corpse Wired For Sound, today via 4AD/Remote Control Records! Coming together and forming a band almost 10 years ago, the band has been doing their thing incredibly well, building a solid fanbase in the US and beyond – A Corpse Wired For Sound follows off the back of Merchandise’s 2014 record After The End and can be bought HERE!



NZ songwriter and producer Thomston is set to release his debut album TOPOGRAPH next Friday, September 30th. Featuring the singles “Rocketful” and “Window Seat” (his collaboration with Wafia), the record was written over almost two years in five different cities, across three different continents. You can pre-order TOPOGRAPHY HERE.



Photo: Jennica Adams
Photo: Jennica Adams

KLP has been hard at work on new music recently, the final results of which will be able to heard on new EP Ember! Set for release on October 14th, Ember saw KLP team up with M-Phazes on production and writing duties – a partnership stemming from their first meeting at a songwriter’s camp a few years ago.

“I’ve been a friend and massive fan of M-Phazes’ after we met at a songwriting camp in Bali a few years back.” KLP has said of the EP’s title track. “This year we both attended the camp again and were paired up together to write along with Jason Gilbert. The two of them went back and forth on the beat, adding drums and layers to the loop while I worked on lyrics, and then Phazes took a line I sang, “You’ve got it all” and then flipped it, creating what is now one of the main features of the track.”

Pre-order Ember HERE.



This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT