New Music Discoveries 23rd February: Jaguar Jonze, Grace Cummings, Real Estate and more

Jaguar Jonze

We have added ten more tracks to our Discovery playlist on Spotify and Apple Music. This week, our Track of the Week is “whiplash” — from Taiwanese-Australian singer, producer, songwriter, and multimedia artist Jaguar Jonze.

The track is from an intimate new EP victim impact statement, that was released today. The track is acoustic, stripped back and laced with power. Jaguar has also released a statement to accompany the EP, which can be read HERE. It’s a sobering reminder of the trauma that is often reinforced by the system which is meant to protect us.

Grace Cummings has reminded us this week of why she is tagged as one of the most exciting local acts to emerge of recent times. “Common Man” is from her upcoming album Ramona (out 5th April). It has a bluesy western feel to it, and again features her powerhouse vocals.

Sydney’s Imogen Clark has kicked off 2024 with a bang. Today she has given us another taste of her forthcoming album, The Art of Getting Through, in the epic love anthem “Big One”, brilliantly conveying the feeling of what it is to be the ‘big one’ in somebody’s life. It has all the feels, is fierce and grand, and Imogen has a knack for lyrics that resonate. The track was recorded in Los Angeles with the reknowned producer Mike Bloom, in the legendary EastWest Studios, where The Beach Boys recorded Pet Sounds. Imogen has a number of gigs around in the country in the next couple of months. Head to her website for more details.

On the other side of love, Husky has released a break-up song, “How To Forget”, yet it has a groovy feel to it. It’s from their album Deep Sleeper which will be released on 26th April. Husky will be touring Australia in May to promote the new album. Keep an eye on their website for dates as they are announced.

Merseyside alt-rockers The Mysterines have released “Stray”, a moody and captivating focus on what vocalist and guitarist Lia Metcalfe describes as the aimless and untamed nature  of the polarities of behaviour that we experience when dealing with suffering. Whether it’s guilt, paranoia or unexplained feelings of grandiosity. Often when the hands of loneliness have a firm grip over one’s eyes it can turn dangers into open doors inviting you in. We find a certain point of no return and we’re often led astray.”

Melbourne/Naarm alt-country gems The Smith & Western Jury have released their new single “Have Mercy” and announced that their debut album Hotel Texas will be released on the 14th June. They will be performing at The Union Hotel in Brunswick on the 9th March.

London-based Brazilian-Italian newcomer Julia Elle has dropped her debut single, “Automatic”, and is an exciting first release for the talented artist. 

We also have new tunes from Real Estate (“Flowers”) and  Seán Joyce (“My Face”)

Finally, we have one video that we premiered this week, from Stacey Ann (“Ripples ).

Catch all the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Jaguar Jonze “whiplash”
Grace Cummings “Common Man”
Imogen Clark “Big One”
Husky “How to Forget”
The Mysterines “Stray”
The Smith & Western Jury “Have Mercy”
Real Estate “Flowers”
Julia Elle “Automatic”
Seán Joyce “My Face”
Stacey Ann “Ripples” [Exclusive Video Premiere]

Header image credit: Dusky Jonze