2016 APRA Music Awards Wrap: Courtney Barnett, Kevin Parker, Sia & more recognised in Sydney!

Last night, Carriageworks hosted the 2016 APRA Music Awards, where the likes of Courtney BarnettKevin Parker, Peking Duk and Sia walked away with awards recognising some stellar songwriting through 2015, while Cold Chisel and songwriter Phil Barton were both acknowledged with special awards commending their work and contribution to the industry both in Australia and abroad.

Performances on the night brought some unique highlights in themselves including D.I.G. (celebrating their 25th anniversary together) powering through a rendition of Birds of Tokyo‘s “Anchor”, teaming up with NGAIIRE and Sydney artist Ruel and Gang of Youths delivering their own take on Jarryd James‘ “Do You Remember” with Montaigne.

Check out the full list of winners below!


Song of the Year

Tame Impala – “Let It Happen”
Writer:  Kevin Parker
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)

Songwriter of the Year

Courtney Barnett 
Publisher: Native Tongue Music Publishing

Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music

Cold Chisel

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year

Alex Hope
Publisher:  Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)

Overseas Recognition Award

Phil Barton
Publisher:  Warner/Chappell Music Australia

Most Played Australian Work Overseas

Sia – “Chandelier”
Writers:  Sia Furler and Jesse Shatkin
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)

Most Played Australian Work 

Peking Duk ft. SAFIA – “Take Me Over”
Writers:  Adam Hyde/ Reuben Styles/ Styalz Fuego/ Ben Woolner
Publishers:  Universal Music Publishing/ Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)

Country Work of the Year

Lee Kernaghan – “Spirit of the ANZACs”
Writers:  Lee Kernaghan / Colin Buchanan / Garth Porter
Publishers:  Universal Music Publishing / Perfect Pitch Publishing

Blues & Roots Work of the Year

Busby Marou – “Days of Gold”
Writers:  Thomas Busby / Phil Barton / Lindsay Rimes
Publishers:  Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia) / Warner/Chappell Music Australia

Dance Work of the Year

Peking Duk ft. SAFIA – “Take Me Over”
Writers: Adam Hyde/ Reuben Styles / Styalz Fuego / Ben Woolner
Publishers: Universal Music Publishing/ Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)

Rock Work of the Year

Birds of Tokyo – “Anchor”
Writers:  Ian Berney / Ian Kenny / Glenn Sarangapany / Adam Spark / Adam Weston
Publisher:   Mushroom Music

Pop Work of the Year

Jarryd James– “Do You Remember”
Writers: Jarryd James / Joel Little
Publishers:  Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)

Urban Work of the Year

Hilltop Hoods – “Cosby Sweater”
Writers:  DJ Debris / MC Pressure / Suffa / Demitris Christopoulos /John Kelman
Publishers:   Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia) / J Albert and Son

International Work of the Year

Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
Writers:  Jeffrey Bhasker / Devon Gallaspy / Philip Lawrence / Bruno Mars / Mark Ronson / Lonnie Simmons / Rudy Taylor / Nicholaus Williams / Charlie Wilson / Robert Wilson Ronnie Wilson
Publishers:   Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia) / Universal/MCA Music Publishing / Warner/Chappell Music Australia / Native Tongue Music Publishing / New Songs Administration Australia


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT theaureview.com.