APRA announces nominees for the 2017 Arts Music Awards

The 2017 Arts Music Awards have been announced, with some of Australia’s best composers and performers in classical, jazz and contemporary music joining the list of diverse finalists acknowledged across 11 categories.

Presented every year by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre, the Awards recognize achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music. This includes activity across contemporary classical, jazz, improvised and experimental music and sound art.

The finalists include previous winners Paul Grabowsky, Paul Stanhope, Cat Hope, Iain Grandage, Andrea Keller, Andrew Ford and 2016 dual winner Kate Neal. Well-known names such as Katie Noonan, Elena Kats-Chernin and Richard Tognetti also feature as nominees.

In addition to composers and performers, the Art Music Awards also recognize excellence by organisations and individuals, and, in 2017 Moorambilla Voices, Tura New Music, Speak Percussion (who took out the Award for Excellence in Experimental Music in 2016), David Bridie, Daryl Buckley and both the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and West Australian Symphony Orchestra are among the finalists.

“Australia’s art music community is creating and presenting extraordinary work,” says APRA AMCOS Chief Executive Brett Cottle, “We’re thrilled to be partnering with the AMC on the 7th Art Music Awards, and I congratulated all the 2017 finalists.”

The awards will be presented at a gala event in Sydney on Tuesday 22nd of August at the City Recital Hall and will be hosted by ABC presenter Simon Marnie and the music will be curated by Gabriella Smart.

Head HERE to the APRA website for the full list of nominees.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on Arts on the AU and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT theaureview.com.