Spotlight and The Big Short neck-and-neck at the 2016 WGAs

Last weekend’s Writer’s Guild Awards saw Spotlight and The Big Short split the biggest honors of the night, while the final season of Mad Men received a farewell gift of Best Drama Series.

Spotlight walked away with Best Original Screenplay while fellow Oscar-frontrunner The Big Short took Best Adapted screenplay.

On the TV front, Mad Men took best Drama while Veep scored Best Comedy. Mr Robot ended up taking Best New Series, Saints & Strangers was named the Best Original Long Form series and FX’s Fargo scored Best Adapted Long Form series.

Better Call Saul walked away with Best Episodic Drama for their premiere episode “Uno” alongside Silicon Valley who took Best Episodic Comedy.

Alex Gibney‘s Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief won Best Documentary Screenplay and the Best Animation award went to Bob’s Burgers (specifically the episode “Housetrap”)

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Original Screenplay: Spotlight, written by Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy
  • Adapted Screenplay: The Big Short, screenplay by Charles Randolph and Adam McKay; Based on the Book by Michael Lewis
  • Documentary Screenplay: Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief, written by Alex Gibney
  • Drama Series: Mad Men, written by Lisa Albert, Semi Chellas, Jonathan Igla, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Tom Smuts, Robert Towne, Matthew Weiner, Carly Wray
  • Episodic Drama: “Uno” (Better Call Saul), written by Vince Gilligan & Peter Gould
  • Comedy Series: Veep, written by Simon Blackwell, Jon Brown, Kevin Cecil, Roger Drew, Peter Fellows, Neil Gibbons, Rob Gibbons, Sean Gray, Callie Hersheway, Armando Iannucci, Sean Love, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Andy Riley, Tony Roche, Will Smith
  • Episodic Comedy: “Sand Hill Shuffle” (Silicon Valley), written by Clay Tarver
  • Comedy / Variety Series: Real Time With Bill Maher, written by  Scott Carter, Adam Felber, Matt Gunn, Brian Jacobsmeyer, Jay Jaroch, Chris Kelly, Bill Maher, Billy Martin, Danny Vermont
  • Comedy / Variety Specials: Jimmy Kimmel Live: 10th Annual After The Oscars Special, written by Jack Allison, Tony Barbieri, Jonathan Bines, Joelle Boucai, Greg Dorris, Gary Greenberg, Josh Halloway, Sal Iacono, Eric Immerman, Jimmy Kimmel, Bess Kalb, Jeff Loveness, Molly McNearney, Danny Ricker, Joe Strazzullo, Bridger Winegar;
  • Comedy Sketch Series: Inside Amy Schumer, written by Jessi Klein Writers: Hallie Cantor, Kim Caramele, Kyle Dunnigan, Jon Glaser, Kurt Metzger, Christine Nangle, Dan Powell, Tami Sagher, Amy Schumer
  • Long Form Original: Saints & Strangers, written by Seth Fisher, Walon Green, Chip Johannessen, Eric Overmyer
  • Children’s Episodic: “Gortimer and the Surprise Signature” (Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street), written by Gretchen Enders & Aminta Goyel
  • Children’s Long Form: Descendents, written by Josann McGibbon & Sara Parriott
  • TV News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report: “Cuba” (60 Minutes), written by Scott Pelley, Nicole Young, Oriana Zill de Granados, Andy Court and Robert Anderson
  • TV News Script – Analysis, Feature or Commentary: “The Storm After the Storm” (60 Minutes), written by Sharyn Alfonsi, Michael Rey and Oriana Zill de Granados;
  • Documentary Script – Current Events: “American Terrorist” (Frontline), written by Thomas Jennings
  • Documentary Script – Other Than Current Events: “The Great Math Mystery” (Nova), written by Daniel McCabe;
  • Long Form Adapted: Fargo, written by teve Blackman, Bob DeLaurentis, Noah Hawley, Ben Nedivi, Matt Wolpert, Based on the film Fargo
  • Daytime Drama: General Hospital, written by Ron Carlivati, Anna Theresa Cascio, Andrea Archer Compton, Suzanne Flynn, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Connor, Elizabeth Page, Jean Passanante, Katherine Schock, Scott Sickles, Chris Van Etten
  • Radio News Script – Analysis, Feature, or Commentary: “Passages”, written by Gail Lee
  • Radio Documentary: “Marking the End of Vietnam: 40 Years Later”, written by Andrew Evans;
  • Animation: “Housetrap” (Bob’s Burgers), written by Dan Fybel
  • Short Form New Media – Original: “Back to Reality” (Weight)
    Written by Daryn Strauss
  • New Series: Mr. Robot, written by Kyle Bradstreet, Kate Erickson, Sam Esmail, David Iserson, Randolph Leon, Adam Penn, Matt Pyken
  • Videogame Writing: Rise of the Tomb Raider, Lead Narrative Designer John Stafford; Narrative Designer Cameron Suey; Lead Writer Rhianna Pratchett; Additional Writer Philip Gelatt;
  • Quiz and Audience ParticipationHollywood Game Night, written by Grant Taylor; Writers: Michael Agbabian, Alex Chauvin, Ann Slichter, Dwight D. Smith
  • Short Form New Media – Adapted: “Chapter Two: Phoebe” (Heroes Reborn: Dark Matters), written by Zach Craley
  • On-Air Promotion (Television, New Media or Radio): “The McCarthys and Under the Dome Promos”, written by Erial Tompkins


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT