Australian Programme for the 25th annual FLiCKERFEST includes 21 young female directors and 18 world premieres

Kicking off with a ten-day, beach-side event in Sydney’s Bondi next month, the 25th annual FLiCKEREST International Short Film Festival will be bringing a total of 53 selections into their Academy Accredited, BAFTA recognised Australian Competition for 2016. Over 2300 entries were received this time around, resulting in a curated schedule of 18 world premieres, 6 Australian premiere, and 10 NSW premieres which showcase the depth of Australia’s pool of talented short filmmakers, particularly putting a spotlight on young female directors with a total of 21 represented across the official Australian competition.

All films officially selected for the competition are up for a number of prizes across all areas of the filmmaking craft, including the Academy Accredited Virgin Australia Award for Best Australian Film, and the Canon Award for Best Direction.

From Friday 8th January to Sunday 17th January, FLiCKERFEST will be screening these films on Bondi Beach, after which the very best festival picks will travel Australia to visit over 50 destinations between January and May.

Watch the FLiCKERFEST trailer and check out the list of films below:

Head to the FLiCKERFEST website – for the full programme and to purchase tickets from 18 December.


ARI – WRI/DIR: Alex Murawski, PROD: Annmaree J Bell
BEYOND THE WATER’S EDGE – WRI/DIR: Scott Dale, PROD: Scott Dale, Mark Holland & Brent Jacuta
BLUEY – WRI/DIR: Darlene Johnson, PROD: Heather Oxenham
CHEROKEE – WRI/DIR: Jem Rankin, PROD: Frances Wang-Ward
DEATH IN BLOOM – WRI/DIR: Dael Oates, PROD: Jonas Mclallen
FLAT DADDY – WRI / DIR: Matt Holcomb, PROD: Annie Kinnane
FOAL – WRI/DIR: Vanessa Gazy, PROD: Lyn Norfor, Ciara Hehir
GECKO – WRI: Jon Steiner, DIR: Reuben Field, PROD: Sarah Steel & Reuben Field
GIMPSEY – WRI/DIR: Sofya Gollan, PROD: Morgan Smallbone
GOODNIGHT SWEETHEART – WRI: Beth King, DIR: Bec Peniston-Bird, PROD: Jim M. Wright
HAPPY AUSTRALIA – WRI/PROD: Steve McCall, DIR: Maziar Lahooti
HARVEY’S DREAM – WRI/DIR: Alexander von Hofmann, PROD: Peter Gurbiel & Alexander von Hofmann
HOME – WRI: Tariro Mavondo, DIR/PROD: Charles Williams
HOPE CITY – WRI: Thomas Baricevic & Peter George, DIR: Thomas Baricevic, PROD: Peter George
HOW TO GET CLEAN – WRI/DIR: Eden Falk, PROD: Alex White
IMAGINATION GAME – WRI/DIR: Alister Grierson, PROD: Skye Cassidy
JE SUIS UN CRAYON (I AM A PENCIL) – WRI/DIR/: Joe D’Arcy, PROD: Carol D’Arcy & Joe D’Arcy
KARROYUL – WRI: Kim Scott, DIR: Kelrick Martin, PROD: Jaclyn Hewer & Melissa Kelly
MAAP MORDAK – WRI/DIR: Dot West, PROD: Jodie Bell
MARKERS – WRI: Will Howarth & Rhett Wade-Ferrell, PROD: Carla de Menezes Ribeiro, DIR: Rhett Wade-Ferrell
MEAT – WRI/DIR: Sunday Emerson Gullifer, PROD: Lauren Elsinger
MY MOTHER’S LETTER – WRI: Emma McKenna, DIR/PROD: Craig D. Foster & Emma McKenna
NAN AND A WHOLE LOT OF TROUBLE – WRI: Sue McPherson, DIR: Dena Curtis, PROD: Lois Randall
NULLA NULLA – WRI/DIR: Dylan River, PROD: Tanith Glynn-Maloney
ONO – WRI/DIR: Lauren Brunswick, PROD: Georgina Isles
OSCAR WILDE’S THE NIGHTINGALE AND THE ROSE – WRI/DIR: Del Kathryn Barton & Brendan Fletcher, PROD: Angie Fielder & Brendan Fletcher
PALE BLUE EYES – WRI/DIR: Joe Henderson, PROD: Cameron Whiteford
PEDAL – WRI/DIR: Gareth Calverley, PROD: Andrew McInally & Gareth Calverley
RED ROVER – WRI/DIR: Brooke Goldfinch, PROD: Brietta Hague & Apolline Berty
REG MAKES CONTACT – WRI: Andrew Slattery & Corrie Chen, PROD: Jiao Chen & Raquelle David, DIR: Corrie Chen
SLINGSHOT – WRI/DIR: David Hansen, PROD: Michael Ciccone, Margo Lowry & James Meldrum Wright
SWEAT – WRI/DIR: Rodd Rathjen, PROD: Robbie McEwan
THE BUTCHER’S SON – WRI: Margot Tasca, DIR: Ella Carey, PROD: Ella Carey, Margot Tasca
THE DETECTIVES OF NOIR TOWN – WRI/PROD: Andrew Chambers & Paul Layton, DIR: Andrew Chambers
THE DRIVER – WRI: Tim Russell, PROD: Michael Wark, DIR: Tim Russell
THE KANGAROO GUY – WRI/DIR: Joel Loxton, PROD: Eleanor Winkler & Racquelle David
THE LAKE – WRI/DIR/PROD: Andrew Gallagher
THE MEEK – WRI/DIR: Joseph Brumm, PROD: Laura DiMaio
THE ORCHESTRA – WRI: Mikey Hill, Jennifer Smith, DIR: Mikey Hill, PROD: Melanie Brunt
THE STORY OF PERCIVAL PILTS – WRI/DIR: Janette Goodey & John Lewis, PROD: John Lewis & Terri Dentry
THE SUMMER OF ABC BURNS – WRI/DIR: Dannika Horvat, PROD: Stephanie Westwood
THE TROPHY THIEF – WRI/DIR: D. Edwardz, PROD: Peter Magdas
TOUGH & COOKIE – WRI/DIR: Madeleine Parker, PROD: Katia Nizic
TRUE COLOURS – WRI: Ben Croker, DIR: David Valent, PROD: Ben Croker & Sophie Notley
UNDER SKIN, IN BLOOD – WRI/DIR: Larissa Behrendt, PROD: John Harvey
WAITING FOR RAIN – WRI/DIR: Andrew Carbone, PROD: Romany Lee & Jasmine Funnell
WHAT WE KNOW – WRI: Marion Pilowsky & L.A. Sellars, DIR: Marion Pilowsky, PROD: Fiona Lanyon & Sue Murray
WHOEVER WAS USING THIS BED – WRI: Andrew Kotatko, DIR: Andrew Kotatko, PROD: Andrew Kotatko & Marie Slaight
WOOF! – WRI/DIR: Nina Buxton, PROD: Hannah Samuel


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT

Chris Singh

Chris Singh is the Deputy Editor of the AU review and a freelance travel writer. You can reach him on Instagram by following @chrisdsingh.

Tags: , ,