Nominees announced for the Time Out Sydney Pub Awards 2016

It’s now your chance to brush up on your knowledge on some of Sydney’s best pubs, as the nominees for the third annual Time Out Sydney Pub Awards have been announced. See below for the full list of nominees, featuring returning favourites plus some new ones who have been on point for the last 12 months.

With thirty-four nominees spread across seven categories such as Best Beer List, Best Pub Food, and People’s Choice, the list of who is up for celebration this year is nothing short of impressive, highlighting just how much the city’s pub revival trend has breathed new life into the scene. Two additional awards will be handed out on the night to unannounced nominees for the Legend Award, and the great honour of Pub of the Year award.

The awards will be hosted at Beer DeLuxe King Street Wharf, 9 Lime St Sydney on Monday June 6 6.30-10.30pm. Tickets are $65 + booking fee, which and can be purchased online at:

Best Pub Food

  • Botany View Hotel
  • Four in Hand
  • Harpoon Harry
  • The Paddington
  • The Unicorn

Best Beer List

  • Botany View Hotel
  • The DOG Hotel
  • Dove and Olive
  • East Village Hotel, Balmain
  • Forest Lodge Hotel
  • Keg and Brew
  • The Local Taphouse
  • Quarrymans Hotel
  • Union Hotel, Newtown

Pub Revival Award

  • Hotel Palisade
  • The Newport
  • Public House Petersham
  • The Unicorn
  • West Village

Good Times Award

  • The Bald Faced Stag
  • Courthouse Hotel, Newtown
  • Harpoon Harry
  • The Imperial
  • Lord Gladstone Hotel

Family-Friendly Award

  • Balmain Hotel
  • The Henson
  • The Newport
  • Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
  • The Woolwich Pier Hotel

Publican of the Year

  • Josh Stewart, Bald Faced Stag
  • Chris Hughes, Balmain Hotel
  • Robert Murphy, Botany View Hotel
  • Dean Bruce, Courthouse Hotel, Newtown
  • Matthew Sen, Forest Lodge Hotel
  • Yane Kostadinovski, The Local Taphouse
  • Marc Griffiths, Lord Raglan
  • Bruno Wickes, The Unicorn
  • Luke Hiscox, Union Hotel, Newtown
  • Tom Harper, Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

People’s Choice

  • Australian Heritage Hotel
  • Dick’s Hotel
  • Forest Lodge Hotel
  • Harts Pub
  • The Henson
  • Kirribilli Hotel
  • The Royal Albert
  • The Shakespeare Hotel
  • Union Hotel, Newtown
  • The Welcome Hotel

Legend Award
Winner announced on the night.

Pub of the Year
Winner announced on the night.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Food & Lifestyle and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT