Track of the Day: Sum 41 “Never There” (2019)

Ahead of their upcoming album, Order in Decline (out July 19th), Canadian skate punks Sum 41 have dropped a couple of new singles to really get us all in the mood. “Never There” is the latest of these, an emotional ballad dedicated to all the single parents out there.

Formed back in 1996, the current lineup consists of lead singer and guitarist Deryck Whibley, guitarist Dave Baksh, guitarist and keyboardist Tom Thacker, bassist Jason McCaslin (better known as Cone), and drummer Frank Zummo.

Order In Decline marks the seventh album from the band. Recorded and mixed in Whibley’s home studio, it’s set to be their heaviest – both in terms of sound and content – to date.

Of latest track “Never There”, Whibley says:

“I never wanted to write this song, it just kind of poured out of me. I tried to fight it at first but there was no stopping it. I could tell I was writing about my dad, who I’ve never met and throughout my life it has always been a subject that I don’t really think about or care about. It has never really bothered me and when I started thinking about why it never bothered me, I realized it was because my mum was so great and I have such a loving relationship with her. She was so strong as a single mother for my whole life that I never needed to think about my dad.”

Check out “Never There” below!

You can pre-order Order In Decline here.
Stay up to date with all things Sum 41 via their Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Tags: , ,