the AU review celebrates live music by announcing nominees for the 1st annual "AU Awards" including public voted category!

  • Larry Heath
  • November 21, 2014
  • Comments Off on the AU review celebrates live music by announcing nominees for the 1st annual "AU Awards" including public voted category!

Picture: Amy Hetherington captures Violent Soho in Darwin…

Today the AU review – and parent company Heath Media – are excited to announce the nominees for the first annual AU Awards, a celebration of the best in live music in Australia.

From the finest tours, to the best bands and our favourite venues, the AU Awards serves as an accompaniment to Australia’s Year in Music, our annual photo book highlighting the best performances of the year. In addition to a series of national awards, three awards will also be given to highlight specific state-by-state talent, voted by AU contributors in which respective state.

These awards take into account LIVE merit, rather than recordings, and artists must have performed within Australia between 1 November 2013 and 31 October 2014 to be considered for the awards. For Festivals/Tours, the date range is the same.

Leading the nominees for 2014 are Brisbane’s Violent Soho, who have 6 nominations, with Sydney’s The Preatures, coming in right behind with five nominations including Live Act of the Year, Voice of the Year for Isabella Manfredi and Guitarist for Gideon Bensen. Brisbane’s Ball Park Music and Melbourne’s Courtney Barnett also impressed this year, both in the running for 4 AU Awards.

The Smith Street Band also have done well with 3 nominations – 4 if you count their tour with Violent Soho – while Kingswood, sleepmakeswaves, One Day and The Jezabels all have a solid three nominations.

Larry Heath, Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the AU review, said of the awards, “We’ve been wanting to kick off these awards for years now, and with the launch of our new book and radio station, it seemed like the perfect time. More than anything, the AU is about celebrating live Australian music – so for our awards, it only makes sense that this tradition follows through. I feel like we’ve tapped an incredible cross section of the local music industry with these nominations and we wish all the bands and artists the best of luck! We hope it incites debate and more than anything, we hope it reminds you to get out there and support live Australian music…”

The NSW and Australia wide winners will be announced at an event in Sydney on 9th December, with the rest of the winners announced online later that night. All winners will also be published in Australia’s Year in Music: 2014 Edition. Stay tuned for details on the event!

And without any more delay, the nominees are…

AU Live Act of the Year
Violent Soho
The Preatures
The Smith Street Band

AU Voice of the Year
Isabella Manfredi (The Preatures)
Hayley Mary (The Jezabels)
Chet Faker
Karina Utomo (High Tension)
Nkechi Anele (Saskwatch)

AU Heatseeker Award
Rising Stars, Live Acts to Watch!
Little May
Holy Holy
Tired Lion

AU Hip-Hop Live Act of the Year
One Day
L-Fresh The Lion

AU DJ/Electronic Artist of the Year

AU Drummer of the Year
Dan Williams (Art vs Science / The Philly Jays / East)
Tim Adderley (sleepmakeswaves)
Kram (Spiderbait)
Michael Richards (Violent Soho)
Lachlan West (The Griswolds)

AU Guitarist of the Year
Ash Grunwald
Alex Laska (Kingswood)
Gideon Bensen (The Preatures)
Courtney Barnett
Otto Wicks-Green (sleepmakeswaves)

AU Bass Guitarist of the Year
Janet English (Spiderbait)
Steph Ashworth (Something For Kate)
Luke Henery (Violent Soho)
Alex Wilson (sleepmakeswaves)
Jennifer Boyce (Ball Park Music)

AU Instrumentalist of the Year
Heidi Lenffer (Keys, Cloud Control)
Xani Kolac (Violin, The Twoks)
Brendan Champion (Trombone, Lime Cordiale)
Paul Furness (Keys/Trombone, Ball Park Music)
Heather Shannon (Keys, The Jezabels)

AU Tour of the Year (Australian)
Note: Award will be presented to both the band and touring company, where applicable.
Violent Soho with The Smith Street Band / Luca Brasi (July 2014)
Sticky Fingers “Land of Pleasure” Album Tour (September 2014)
The Smith Street Band & The Menzingers With Grim Fandango (March 2014)
Chet Faker “Built On Glass” Album Tour with Yumi Zouma (June/July 2014)
Courtney Barnett + D.D Dumbo. (September/October 2014)

AU Tour of the Year (International)
Note: Award will be presented to Touring Company.
Neutral Milk Hotel / M Ward / Superchunk (Soundwave Touring, November 2013)
Arctic Monkeys (Frontier Touring, May 2014)
City and Colour (Chugg Entertainment, Nov/Dec 2013)
Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band (Frontier Touring, February 2014)
Queens of the Stone Age / Nine Inch Nails (Frontier Touring, March 2014)

AU Festival of the Year (Touring)
Laneway Festival
Soundwave Festival
Listen Out
The Blurst of Times
Falls Festival / Southbound

AU Festival of the Year (Non-Touring)
Byron Bay Bluesfest
Mona Foma
Splendour in the Grass

NSW Band/Artist of the Year
The Preatures
Steve Smyth
Sticky Fingers
Little Bastard
One Day

NSW Voice of the Year
Steve Smyth
Isabella Manfredi (The Preatures)
Nikki Thornburn (Iluka)
Hayley Mary (The Jezabels)
Andy Bull

NSW Venue of the Year
Brighton Up Bar
Oxford Art Factory
The Newsagency
Sydney Opera House
Metro Theatre

VIC Band/Artist of the Year
Courtney Barnett
The Peep Tempel
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard

VIC Voice of the Year
Courtney Barnett
Dan Sultan
Henry Wagons
Ella Hooper

VIC Venue of the Year
The Corner Hotel
Ding Dong Lounge
The Forum Theatre
Northcote Social Club

SA Band/Artist of the Year
Sincerely, Grizzly
West Thebarton Brothel Party
Horror My Friend
Glass Skies

SA Voice of the Year
Anna Bouras (The Villenettes)
Joshua Calligeros (Sincerely, Grizzly)
Rachel Cearns (Valkyries)
Chris Panousakis (Timberwolf)
Tkay Maidza

SA Venue of the Year
The Gov
Rocket Bar & Rooftop
Thebarton Theatre
Tenth & Gibson

QLD Band/Artist of the Year
DZ Deathrays
Violent Soho
Dead Letter Circus
Ball Park Music

QLD Voice of the Year
Jordan Rakei
Jeremy Neale (Velociraptor)
Thelma Plum
Kate Miller-Heidke
Hannah Shepherd (Airling)

QLD Venue of the Year
Black Bear Lodge
The Brightside
The Tivoli
The Zoo

WA Band/Artist of the Year
The Brow
The Love Junkies
Our Man in Berlin
Timothy Nelson and the Infidels

WA Voice of the Year
Timothy Nelson
Sophie Hopes (Tired Lion)
Abbe May
Felicity Groom
Haydn Mansell (Our Man in Berlin)

WA Venue of the Year
The Bakery
The Ellington Jazz Club
Perth Arena

In addition to the awards voted by the AU review contributors, a Peoples Choice award sees 12 bands and artists in the running for the trophy – with the public asked to pick their favourite live act. Voting closes December 5th and the winner (plus 2 runners up) will be announced on December 9th.

Everyone who enters goes in the draw to win a $250 prize pack filled with CDs and concert tickets for 2015! Prize valid for Australian based voters only. Entries can be made here:

People’s Choice Award Nominees:
Ball Park Music
One Day
Sticky Fingers
The Griswolds
The Love Junkies
The Smith Street Band
Violent Soho

National and NSW winners will be announced at an event in Sydney on December 9th. Australia’s Year in Music is available for pre-order now at – Just in time for Christmas!

Larry Heath

Founding Editor and Publisher of the AU review. Currently based in Toronto, Canada. You can follow him on Twitter @larry_heath or on Instagram @larryheath.