New Music Discoveries 9th June: Grievous Bodily Calm, PJ Harvey, Shen Panthers and more

Another ten songs have been added to our Discovery playlist on Spotify and Apple Music this week, including one we premiered the music video for. Our Track of the Week is “Cascades” from Boorloo/Perth experimental jazz quintet Grievous Bodily Calm.

“Cascades” is the title track from their forthcoming EP, which is due for release later in the year. The track has the band once again blending genres, with the song morphing from a chilled synth-laden slow-burner to a powerful blend of jazz and rock over the 5+ minute run time.

The track really highlights the band’s versatility, musicality and improvisational skill. It has us excited to hear the full EP later in the year; but for now we’ll just keep enjoying that horn section and exciting guitar work.

We always try to showcase debut singles on our playlist, and this week is no different. “It’s Gonna Be Okay” is the debut single from New York-based singer-songwriter Emily Nicole Green. The song, which is from Green’s forthcoming EP Outrunning The Animal, is a sophisticated slice of Americana, the highlight of which is that beautiful, emotive and powerful vocal performance.

Sticking with New York, we also have the new single from singer-songwriter Abby Dormer. “Sylvia” is the opening track from Dormer’s debut EP Apologue, which is released today. It’s a track that just oozes warmth and charm, with some lovely understated guitar work and some inventive percussive work. We can’t wait to get stuck into the rest of the EP.

PJ Harvey has dropped her second single, “I Inside the Old I Dying” from her forthcoming album I Inside the Old Year Dying, which will be released on 7th July. It’s ethereal, moody and intimate. Classic PJ Harvey.

Punkrockers  Teen Jesus and the Jean Teasers have dialled it back several knotches with the touching and tender “Never Saw It Coming”. They’ve also announced that their debut album, I Love You will be released on the 8th September.

Night Talks  are an indie band hailing from LA, and have just dropped the summery “Roll On”. Upbeat rock with sweet vocals and an upbeat sound, the trio formed in 2014 and have a vibrant irresistable sound.

“Outloved” from Tourniquet is another easycore banger from the Melbourne pop-punk trio with long-time collaborators Ocean Sleeper. These lads have a knack for writing catchy songs that hit in the feels but still make you move.

Sunshine Coast rockers Shen Panthers have firmly embraced the golden age of rock excess in their new single “Fly Awake Naked”. It is a track that is full of swagger, sauciness and style, with some truly impressive guitar work throughout. Australian indie rock is in such a good place right now, and this is right up there with the best! If you’re in Brisbane the band will launching the single at Tomcat on June 24th. You can grab tickets HERE.

Finally, we have an exclusive video premiere from SLIM JIMZ.

Catch the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Grievous Bodily Calm “Cascades”
Emily Nicole Green “It’s Gonna Be Okay”
PJ Harvey  “I Inside the Old I Dying”
Abby Dormer “Sylvia”
Teen Jesus and the Jean Teasers “Never Saw It Coming”
Night Talks “Roll On”
Al Wade “Drink It Up”
Shen Panthers “Fly Away Naked”
Outloved “Tourniquet” ft. Ocean Sleeper
SLIM JIMZ “25” [Exclusive Video Premiere]