New Music Discoveries 21st June: Sarah Kinsley, Gut Health, Mavis Staples, and more

Sarah Kinsley

We’ve added another ten tracks to our Discovery Playlist on Spotify and Apple Music, including three songs we exclusively premiered on the site earlier in the week. “Last Time We Never Meet Again”, the new single from alt-pop New Yorker, Sarah Kinsley is our Track of the Week.

The track is the first single from her new album Escaper which is set for release on the 6th of September. It’s an upbeat slice of dramatic pop that broaches the unenviable task of letting a friendship go. It has an buoyant feel as it deals with a difficult task ahead, as Sarah describes: “’s trying to make something that is really sincerely a goodbye—the closing of all these worlds that you inhabit with the people you love. A celebratory goodbye.”

With a background in classical music, it’s no surprise that it has a grand, lush feel to it. Sarah performed at SXSW in Sydney last year to great acclaim, and hopefully the experience will lure her back to our shores before too long.

“Swim” is the debut single from Sunshine Coast-based Jack Dylan and The Villains. The project is the brainchild (and first solo outing) of Jack Dylan McCullagh, formerly of Melbourne post-punk band Dr Sure’s Unusual Practice. The track, which is from the forthcoming debut record Comfort Will Kill You, is a moody, atmospheric rock track, that along with the accompanying music video leans into the Australian Gothic. With a catchy, albeit chilling, chorus and some astute lyricism “Swim” is a brilliant introduction to this new project.

It feels like the dance-punk sextet Gut Health are on the cusp of finding a much much larger audience. We caught them at The Great Escape in Brighton in the UK last month and were blown away. Today they’ve dropped their first single of the year, “Separate States”, a callout to the older generations to be accountable for their actions. A serious message, delivered with verve, chaos and kick-arse dance vibes. There’s a creativity to Gut Health which makes them stand out above the pack. And trust us on this one, go and see them live and you will be seriously hooked. They are currently touring in Europe, including a support show for Queens of the Stone Age, and will be supporting Hiatus Kaiyote in their Melbourne and Sydney shows in September.

We’re long time fans of Mavis Staples here at the AU. Turning 85 next month she is an absolute icon of American music and culture. She doesn’t seem to be easing up much either. Her new single “Worthy” is described as a Prince-inspired song, an artist who Staples worked with in the 80s. Written and produced by MNDR, “Worthy” is a multi-faceted bop. It’s an infectious and dance worthy tune, it’s celebratory in feel, and empowering, but with Staples at the helm it also feels like it takes on a greater significance and power thanks to her past civil rights activism. It’s just a joy to listen to. Turn it up!

This week WA’s DICE have announced the release of their anticipated debut album Midnight Zoo – due August 9th. To coincide with the announcement, the band have dropped lead single “This is Not A Love Song”. According to the band the song’s meaning is open to interpretation. It’s either a love song, or the soundtrack of the slow realisation that the person you thought was the one, isn’t really. Though if it’s the sound of things to come on the album, then count us in!

Also added to the playlist this week are new tracks from Canadian folk trio Wild Rivers (“Backfire”) and the award winning British jazz act Ezra Collective, with their new single, “God Gave Me Feet For Dancing”, featuring vocals from fellow Londoner Yazmin Lacey.

Finally, we have premieres from Libbianski (“Too Many Fools, Not Enough Horses”), Vanderlay (“Disband” ) and Restless Leg (“Dance Around My Head”).

Catch all the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Sarah Kinsley “Last Time We Never Meet Again”
Jack Dylan and The Villains “Swim”
Gut Health “Separate States”
Wild Rivers “Backfire”
Mavis Staples “Worthy”
Ezra Collective “God Gave Me Feet for Dancing (Feat. Yazmin Lacey)”
DICE “This Is Not A Love Song”
Libbianski “Too Many Fools, Not Enough Horses” [Exclusive Video Premiere]
Vanderlay “Disband” [Exclusive EP Premiere]
Restless Leg “Dance Around My Head” [Exclusive Video Premiere]

Header Image Credit: Dillon Matthew