New Music Discoveries 15th September: The Pleasure Dome, Highline, Reliable Ghost & more

Pleasure Dome

A further ten tracks have been added to our Discovery playlist on Spotify and Apple Music, including one where we premiered the music video earlier in the week. This Track of the Week is “Good Luck” from The Pleasure Dome.

“Good Luck” is the latest single to drop from Bristol’s grunge-rock/punk trio The Pleasure Dome ahead of their debut album EQUINOX which will be released next Friday. It’s a track that sets the hairs on the back of your neck on end, with a fervent desire to get to the front of the moshpit. Let’s hope they make it out to Australia soon.

“Plugged” is the new single from Nashville indie band McKay. According to the band, the song ‘highlights the growing epidemic of internet addiction and connected isolationism’ and that specifically it is ‘written for every person who feels sucked in by their machine’. It’s thoughtful, playful and just a whole lot of fun; and a really great introduction to the band and their sound.

Sydney’s Highline are hard at work on their debut album that is due to be released sometime in 2024. The first single to drop is “Exit A”, and it continues the rich vein of form for this talented bunch of indie-rockers. The emotive soaring vocals of lead singer Sam Rigney are a highlight.

Luke Hansen is one of those musicians who can seemingly do it all. “Solitude” is a song that typifies Luke’s output – thoroughly immersive, thoughtful, cinematic and poetic. His songs are multilayered sonic landscapes. His debut album, Air is Thin, is set to be released in 2024.

Sunshine Coast singer-songwriter Ted Watson released his new single “Memory Lane” this week. There’s a relaxed vibe to the track that’s led by Watson’s soulful vocal. It’s emotive, full of warmth and just a really comforting listen. 

Loretta hails from the Northern Beaches of Sydney, and have released “All My Friends (Are Your Friends)”. This is fun indie-pop that should be on many a party-playlist. With big hooks and a great melody, it tackles that tricky question of how to manage a breakup and what about those mutual friends?

“Shadows of us” is the new single from Berlin-based singer-songwriter Reliable Ghost – the pseudonym of Italian artist Marina Pizzo. The track, which is from her forthcoming EP Rexistence, is an intense and rich folk ballad. It’s an absolutely beautiful song, that’s full of elegance, power and beauty. The highlight, is undoubtedly, that sublime vocal. Stunning! 

Finally, we have an exclusive video premiere from LA’s Coma Girls.

Catch the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

The Pleasure Dome “Good Luck”
McKay “Plugged”
Black Surf “Lights Out”
Highline “Exit A”
Luke Hansen “Solitude”
Ted Watson “Memory Lane”
Loretta “All My Friends (Are Your Friends)”
Reliable Ghost “Shadows of Us”
Mezanmi “To You, My Friends”
Coma Girls “Back To The Source” [Exclusive Video Premiere]

Header image credit:  The Pleasure Dome by Joshua Milton