Jen Cloher, Alex Lahey, Gang of Youths & more make the longlist for the Australian Music Prize

The longlist for the 13th Australian Music Prize has been unveiled, following an official event in Melbourne overnight that saw three of the nominees perform, and a selection of the longlist announced by a line up of special guests.

At The National Hotel in Richmond, RocKwiz’s Brian Nankervis and The Jezabels‘ Sam Lockwood hosted the AMP event, that saw Jen CloherGretta Ziller and BIRDZ perform, while guests including past winners Remi Sensible J and Big Scary‘s Jo Syme, AMP Chairperson Dave Faulkner and more announce artists who have progressed to the next stage of the $30,000 competition.

Joining Jen Cloher, BIRDZ and Gretta Ziller, 42 artists have made the AMP longlist, including Alex Lahey (I Love You Like a Brother), Gang of Youths (Go Farther in Lightness), and The Smith Street Band (More Scared of You Than You Are of Me).

Over 400 Australian albums have been listened to by the panel of industry judges, with the shortlist to be determined and announced in early 2018. Check out the longlist below!


Alex Lahey – I Love You Like a Brother
Ali Barter – A Suitable Girl
Alex Cameron – Forced Witness
Beaches – Second of Spring
Ben Salter – Back Yourself
Billy Davis – A Family Portrait
BIRDZ – Train of Thought
BOAT SHOW – Groundbreaking Masterpiece
Boo Seeka – Never Too Soon
Brightness – Teething
Cable Ties – Cable Ties
Cameron Avery – Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams
The Creases – Tremolow
Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile – Lotta Sea Lice
Cub Sport – BATS
Dappled Cities – IIIII
Darcy Baylis – Intimacy & Isolation
Ecca Vandal – Ecca Vandal
EWAH & The Vision of Paradise – Everything Fades to Blue
Gang of Youths – Go Farther in Lightness
Glitter Veils – Figures in Sight
Gold Class – Drum
Gordi – Reservoir  
Gretta Ziller – Queen of Boomtown
Hazel English – Just Give In/Never Going Home
Holly Throsby – After a Time
Jen Cloher – Jen Cloher
Jess Locke – Universe
Jordan Ireland with Purple Orchestra – Jordan Ireland with Purple Orchestra
Jordan Rakei – Wallflower
Kasey Chambers – Dragonfly
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Flying Microtonal Banana
Liars – TFCF
Machine Translations – Oh
Mere Women – Big Skies
Methyl Ethel – Everything is Forgotten
Paul Kelly – Life is Fine
Pond – The Weather
Sampa The Great – Birds and the BEE9
The Smith Street Band – More Scared of You Than You Are of Me
Tim Rogers – An Actor Repair
Time For Dreams – In Time
Tornado Wallace – Lonely Planet
Underground Lovers – Staring At You Staring At Me
The Vampires – The Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke

 For more information about the Australian Music Prize, visit their website here.

Photo of Jen Cloher by Tajette O’Halloran.



This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT