‘Indie-Con’ launches in Australia; inaugural music industry conference heads to Adelaide in July

Australia’s music industry will be on show in Adelaide this July, with the inaugural ‘Indie-Con’ launching in the country’s UNESCO City of Music come July 27th & 28th. Kicking off in conjunction with the 11th AIR Awards, Indie-Con Australia follows on from the original UK model, first established to get down to the nitty gritty of issues currently facing independent labels and self-releasing artists.

For many artists, this will be a prime opportunity to connect with some of the country’s biggest players and visitors working in the independent music industry, offering insights and strategies that have proven fruitful and successful across the board. Featuring speakers including Jo Syme (Pieater/Hotel Motel Records), Ben Martin (Golden Era Records), Joe Alexander (Bedroom Suck) and Paul Pacifico (AIM), Indie-Con Australia will be traversing a diverse range of panel and discussion topics, from copyright to the analysis of the label ‘independent’ in its core form.

Says conference programmer Stu Watters, “One of the things that makes the independent sector truly appealing is that the business models are all quite diverse and they don’t fit a mould. They are cutting their own track along the way and this conference is all about sharing those stories.”

The inaugural Indie-Con Australia event will be held at the Tandanya National Aboriginal Cultural Institute in Adelaide this year and will feature the following names…


Sebastian Chase (MGM)
Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars/Future of What)
Richard James Burgess (A2IM)
Paul Pacifico (AIM)
George Howard (Berklee/Forbes)
Mishal Varma (Know What’s Loved)
Amy Dietz (InGrooves)
Joanna Syme (Pieater/Hotel Motel Records)
Joe Alexander (Bedroom Suck)
Jane Slingo (Young Strangers)
Matt Rogers (UNFD)
Matt Bird (Whitesky)
Ashley Gray (Xelon)
Tom Harris (Whitesky)
Henry Compton (The Orchard)
Karl Richter (Level 2/Disco)
Kate Mills (Native Tongue)
Tyler McLoughlin (The Soundpound)
Ben Godding (AWAL/Kobalt)
Jay Mogis (QUT/Nightlife)
Lynne Small (PPCA)
John Ferris (TMRW)
Andy Hayden (Poison City Records)
Nick O’Byrne (Lookout Kid)
Katie Besgrove (Barely Dressed Records)
Jen Cloher (Milk Records)
Briggs (A.B. ORIGINAL/Bad Apples)
Susan Cotchin (IRR Music)
Chris Maund (Liberation)
Tim Kelly (Inertia)
Merida Sussex (Stolen Recordings/Paradise Motel)
Natalie Waller (ABC)
James Limon (ABC)
Maya Janeksa (UNFD)
Ben Martin (Golden Era Records)

For interstate visitors, there will be opportunities to access accommodation and travel discounts with the Appointment group – email [email protected] for more information. Tickets for Indie-Con Australia are available for non-AIR Members to purchase from July 6th here.




This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT theaureview.com.