Courtney Barnett, Hiatus Kaiyote & more nominated for APRA Song of the Year!

The 20 contenders for this year’s APRA Song of the Year accolade have been announced this week, with a diverse range of Australian songwriters being acknowledged for some great releases through 2015. There were thousands of votes taken in over the last month or so, with a mix of established artists and emerging frontrunners on the Australian circuit all coming through strongly as a result.

APRA Members now have until 5pm AEDST, February 9th to vote for their choice song to take out the award, now in its 25th year. All members who vote go into the running to win a Gibson Les Paul Special DoubleCut guitar (valued a $2999), plus two tickets to the APRA Music Awards, being held in Sydney on April 5th at Carriageworks. To vote: head to


“1969” – Seth Sentry
Writer/s: Nicholas Martin, Seth Sentry, Styalz Fuego

“6000 Miles” – The Waifs
Writer/s: Josh Cunningham, Donna Simpson, Vikki Thorn

“Aerial Love” – Daniel Johns
Writer/s: Daniel Johns, Joel Little

“A-Grade Playa” – Sheppard
Writer/s: Jay Bovino, Amy Sheppard, George Sheppard

“Anchor” – Birds of Tokyo
Writer/s: Ian Berney, Ian Kenney, Glenn Sarangapany, Adam Spark, Adam Weston

“Another Australian Day” – Troy Cassar-Daley
Writer/s: Troy Cassar-Daley, Pete Denahy

“Bend” – Chet Faker
Writer/s: Nicholas Murphy, Curtis Mayfield

“Borderline With My Atoms” – Hiatus Kaiyote
Writer/s: Paul Bender, Perrin Moss, Simon Mavin, Naomi Saalfield

“Breathing Underwater” – Hiatus Kaiyote
Writer/s: Paul Bender, Perrin Moss, Simon Mavin, Naomi Saalfield

“Dead Fox” – Courtney Barnett
Writer/s: Courtney Barnett

“Do You Remember” – Jarryd James
Writer/s: Jarryd James and Joel Little

“Eventually” – Tame Impala
Writer/s: Kevin Parker

“Freedom Ride” – Troy Cassar-Daley ft. Paul Kelly
Writer/s: Troy Cassar-Daley, Paul Kelly

“Georgia” – Vance JoyTame Impala
Writer/s: Kevin Parker

“Lost” – Cold Chisel
Writer/s: Wes Carr and Don Walker

“Pedestrian At Best” – Courtney Barnett
Writer/s: Courtney Barnett

“Secondhand Man” – Shane Nicholson
Writer/s: Shane Nicholson

“The Zombie” – C.W. Stoneking
Writer/s: C.W. Stoneking

“Zond” – POND
Writer/s: Nicholas Allbrook, Joseph Ryan, James Terry, Jay Watson


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT