Ali Barter shares new single and announces debut album, A Suitable Girl, for March release

Following up her huge 2016 single “Girlie Bits”, Melbournian pop-rocker Ali Barter has revealed her newest single “Cigarette”. The news comes paired with the highly anticipated release of Barter’s debut album, A Suitable Girl, coming to us March 24th on Ronnie Records via Intertia Music.

Not one to sugar-coat reality and tip-toe around feelings, “Cigarette” grasps romantic invalidation with graceful blatancy. Barter’s choir-trained vocals are made even sweeter against rattling, 90’s punk-rock guitars in the crashing chorus.

Taking it’s name from a Vikram Seth’s novel, A Suitable Boy, this album also looks at the power of self-acceptance and the confidence to own your own thoughts. Throughout the writing process, Barter collaborated with a number of songwriters including Jonathan Boulet, Thom Macken and Adalita. You can pre-order A Suitable Girl HERE, which includes an exclusive album zine.

A Suitable Girl 

1. Cigarette
2. One Foot In
3. Girlie Bits
4. Tokyo
5. The Captain
6. Light Them On Fire
7. Please Stay
8. Live With You
9. Delilah
10. Far Away
11. Walk/Talk


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT