Alexander Biggs, du0 & Teenage Joans win US Songwriting Competition

Three Australian artists today find themselves amongst the 38 international winners of the 2021 US-based Unsigned Only Music Competition.

Singer/songwriter Alexander Biggs (Melbourne, VIC) and EDM artist du0 (Brisbane, QLD) have both been awarded First Place in their respective categories.

Biggs was awarded First Place for the song “Madeleine” in the Folk/Singer-Songwriter category, while du0 (aka Ryan Dobbrick) took home First Place for the song “Come Home” in the EDM category.

Meanwhile, Teenage Joans were awarded Second Place in the AAA category, for their song “Ice Cream”. In addition to these winners, 16 Australian artists have been awarded an Honorable Mention in their categories in the competition (see below for a complete list of Aussie winners).

The overall 2021 Grand Prize was awarded to the emerging teen singer-songwriter, and America’s Got Talent star, Sophie Pecora.

The winners were selected from almost 10,000 entries from 120 countries, and the three Australians share in over US$150,000 in cash and prizes split among 38 winners.

Winners were selected by a judging panel comprised of high-profile industry experts and renowned recording artists, including: Chris Daughtry (Daughtry); Aimee Mann; Sanctus Real; O.A.R.; Ruthie Foster; Robert Smith (The Cure); David Benoit; Linda Perry; NLE Choppa; Bibi Marin (Reik); The Devil Makes Three; Showtek; LoCash; and many more (see complete list below). Also on the judging panel were music journalists from Rolling StoneGuitar PlayerJazzTimes, Yahoo Music, No Depression; Pandora; Blues Music MagazineAustin Chronicle; and more.

To see all the winners, and listen to the winning songs, head here:

2021 Unsigned Only Music Competition – Australian Winners and Honourable Mentions

First Place
Alexander Biggs (Melbourne, VIC) – “Madeleine”– Folk/Singer-Songwriter
du0 (Brisbane, QLD) – “Come Home” – EDM (Electronic Dance Music)

Second Place
Teenage Joans (Adelaide, SA) – “Ice Cream” – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)

Honorable Mentions
Alter Boy (Perth, WA) – “Bad Dream Break In” – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)
Alter Boy (Perth, WA) – “Bad Dream Break In” – Pop/Top 40
Bree Rusev (Newcastle, NSW) – “Drift” – Teen
Chuditch (Perth, WA) – “Grasping At The Water” – Folk/Singer-Songwriter
ELKI (Sydney, NSW) – “Spend Your Life” – AC (Adult Contemporary)
Em George (Sydney, NSW) – “Light Comes In” – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)
JEFFE (Brisbane, QLD) – “Home” – AC (Adult Contemporary)
Jessica Arlo Irish (Sydney, NSW) – “Breath Ft. Sihyun Park” – Instrumental
Josiah McAllan (Alice Springs, NT) – “Sanctify Me” – Christian
Lachlan Edwards (Newcastle, NSW) – “Little Too Late” – Folk/Singer-Songwriter
Leonie Kingdom (Hervey Bay, QLD) – “Night Terrors” – Folk/Singer-Songwriter
LT (Cairns, QLD) – “How Would It Feel” – AC (Adult Contemporary)
Natasha Duarte (Sydney, NSW) – “Can’t Tell For Sure” – AC (Adult Contemporary)
Rumours (Melbourne, VIC) – “If Only You Could Feel Something Too” – Rock
Sage Rogan (Melbourne, VIC) – “Dusk” – Instrumental
Zoe A’dore (Melbourne, VIC) – “Read” – Pop/Top 40

Larry Heath

Founding Editor and Publisher of the AU review. Currently based in Toronto, Canada. You can follow him on Twitter @larry_heath or on Instagram @larryheath.