Album News Weekly: 17th November 2016

This week in album news, heavy-weights The xx and Childish Gamino make waves with surprise album announcements, plus we meet the artist introducing us to his world of funky sub-Saharan soul music…



Relative experience, cynicism and housing affordability: these are the topics touched on amidst bubbling electronic beats in Yon Yonson’s latest release “Berlin”, the first offering from the band’s forthcoming album, due February 4th. Titled Yes No Sorry, this will be Yon Yonson’s fourth studio album and is said to be punctuated by self-doubt and reflection, and ultimately grounded in the Western suburbs of Sydney where the band hail. If “Berlin” is anything to go by, this record is set to be brimming with lush soundscapes oozing with dreamy synth and somber vocals. Dissolve into nothingness and listen to “Berlin” below!



After teasing fans with a series of 55-second instrumental snippets dropped subtly into their Spotify playlist titled “In The Studio”, The xx have come clean and officially dropped their new single “On Hold”. This is the band’s first new material since their hugely successful 2012 release, Coexist, and features tight electronic loops and vocal samples from Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim that make for an equally ambient, yet groovy beat. “On Hold” will be the first offering from The xx’s third studio album titled I See You, set for release January 13, which has been rumoured about since Jamie xx revealed some of his solo work had crossed over onto the new The xx release. I See You is sure to be a reflection of The xx’s evolution in electronic-pop not to be missed.



Drenched in soul, jazz and funk while flowing with a sub-Saharan African beat- “U’Huh” is the brand new track from London-born musician Ahmed Gallab, performing under the name Sinkane.

Blending a groovy range of vintage and contemporary styles to create his own brand of feel-good, spirited music full of sunshine and generosity, you can hear influences from his previous work with Yeasayer and Caribou shine through. “Life & Livin’ It” is the follow up to Sinkane’s acclaimed 2015 album Mean Love, and is due for release February 10th (pre-order it HERE), before playing at WOMADelaide festival the following March.



Danish four-piece Communions have premiered a gorgeously melodic new track, “Come On, I’m Waiting”, as the second single from their forthcoming debut album Blue, out February 3rd on Fat Possum Records via Inertia Music. These guys have only released a couple of EPs but have already caught our attention with their brooding 80’s punk rock, transforming everything we previously knew about the Danish music scene.

Their most recent singles reflect Communions’ development and refinement in sound- their raw, gritty punk is now just as emotive but with clearer direction. Watch the clip for “Come On, I’m Waiting” below!



Donald Glover has officially given us a date for the third record he will release as Childish Gambino. Along with some other-worldly album artwork, Gambino released the first single from his upcoming album, Awaken, My Love!, due December 2nd via Glassnote. Titled “Me and Your Mama,” we see the previously R&B/rap artist embrace his singing throughout a sprawling, soulful 6 minute dive into a world of Gambino not previously heard.

While sparking conversation regarding this development and exploration of sound, the new record will be an interesting look at where this actor/comedian/writer/musician will go now. Check out the full tracklist for Awaken, My Love! below!

01 Me and Your Mama
02 Have Some Love
03 Boogieman
04 Zombies
05 Riot
06 Redbone
07 California
08 Terrified
09 Baby Boy
10 The Night Me and Your Mama Met
11 Stand Tall

detraypressphoto2 SHY GIRLS

There aren’t any girls and he’s not that shy, but the material from Portland songwriter/producer Dan Vidmar is worth wrapping your ears around for a dose of some seriously transcendent, low-fi pop. Following up his debut EP Timeshare (2013) and a 13-track mixtape 4WZ featuring appearances from Tei Shi, Rome Fortune and Junglepussy, Shy Girls has announced his debut album Salt will be dropped January 20th.

Self-produced, Salt will feature independently created soundscapes of 80’s synths and silky vocals. Check out the second official single, “Trivial Motion” from the upcoming album below!


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT