ANZ photographers take home photography gongs at the Sony Alpha Awards

The Sony Alpha Awards, an annual competition celebrating the best in Australian and New Zealand photography, has named this year’s prize winning artists and pieces.

The evening was divided up into a number of categories, covering a range of styles and genres, each selected by Sony Global Digital Imaging Ambassadors and renowned shooters in their own right, Craig Parry and Mark Galer. The full list of category winners is as follows:

  • Abstract: Jingshu Zhu
  • Editorial: David Sickerdick
  • Landscape: Grant Galbraith
  • Macro: Chris Cope
  • Nature: Robyn Waterhouse
  • Sport: Kian Bullock
  • Youth: Keeley Watson

But it was Auckland-based photographer Ilan Wittenberg in the Portait category, taking home the grand prize for his piece, pictured below.

Wittenburg takes home $3,000 worth of Sony camera gear and a trip to Tanzania. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Correction: An earlier version of this article incorrectly listed Blake Fitzgerald as the Macro category winner as a result of incorrect information from PR. That’s on us, we should have triple checked the the list of winners before running the piece. The actual winner of the Macro category was Chris Cope and we’ve updated the piece to reflect this.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT

David Smith

David Smith is the games and technology editor at The AU Review. He has previously written for PC World Australia. You can find him on Twitter at @RhunWords.

Tags: ,