AU ABROAD

warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.

THE BEATLES

Adelaide Fringe Festival Review: Beatlemania - The Joiner Arms (06.03.15)

Who doesn’t enjoy dancing and singing along to the greatest act of the rock era? John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr were the four most influential musicians and still are until this day. So when I was waiting for Beatlemania to commence at The Joiners Arms on Friday night, lets just say I was jumping in my seat like a little schoolgirl – literally how every girl would have been jumping at a live Beatles concert in the 60’s.

New release CDs and Books deliver last minute Christmas gift ideas for fans of The Beatles

Hardly a year goes by without the release of new Beatles related material. Be they compilation albums, books, covers, gimmicks... it seems there's always something to keep fans of the iconic British band happy. At this point though, unless McCartney or Ringo bring out some new auto-biography, filled with never before known details, is there really anything new we can take from these releases? Probably not. But that doesn't stop them from coming out, and nor should it. With music as good as it was (and is) there's no reason we shouldn't continue to celebrate it - and creative minds continue to think of new ways to do so.

Album News Weekly: 23rd June 2014

In This Issue:Nice list this week - more news from Angus & Julia Stone, The Gaslight Anthem is back with a new one, and The Griswolds are finally ready to release their debut. There's also some cool new releases coming through, so have a look!

A look ahead at STUDIO Loves: The Beatles on Foxtel's STUDIO

It was 50 years ago today, Sgt. Pepper taught the band to play. Not quite. This year marks the 50th anniversary of The Beatles only visit to Australia and the year that Beatlemania hit. In 1964 the band performed to 73 million viewers on The Ed Sullivan Show, played multiple overseas concerts, met Bob Dylan, recorded Beatles For Sale, released A Hard Day’s Night and made chart history when they held the top five spots on the US singles chart. Foxtel’ s Studio 132 will be celebrating the Fab Four this Saturday with a series of documentaries and concert films as The AU Review explores in more detail.

Arts Review: Looking Through A Glass Onion by John Waters - Sydney Opera House (28.01.14)

Tribute bands can be a dime a dozen and little more than a glorified radio or stereo. But then there are acts like John Waters. He has been performing his John Lennon tribute since 1992 and has also done a six-month stint in London's West End with the show. And it's easy to see why it continues to appeal, because Waters really gets at the essence - the heart and soul of Lennon - through an excellent mix of personal anecdotes and the music, of course.

Album News Weekly: 28th November 2013

In This Issue: Big big news this week with music legends Bruce Springsteen and Tori Amos both announcing album releases in early 2014. Also some newbies making their way into the scene like Jess WIlliamson, Brode Dalle and Mo Kenney.

Album Review: The Beatles - On Air - Live at the BBC Vol. 2 (2013 LP)

On the 29th of August 1966, The Beatles played their last live planned gig in Candlestick Park, San Francisco. They turned inwards at this point and attempted to reinvent themselves as a creative force, neglecting the notion of being a touring act.

the AU lists: Six Essential Music Biographies To Read

After a hard night of seeing three or four bands in a sticky pub, there’s nothing like curling up in bed with a good book to soothe the high-pitched ringing that is pulsating from the eardrums. Of course, I am assuming you all go home after a gig and get tucked away in your little beds all nice and comfy with a teddy bear and a book as your companion, no? What do you mean when you say that you continue on to another pub and ensure that the hangover from hell comes the next morning?

Album News Weekly: Friday, 5 April 2013

This week’s album news brings a whole heap of announcements to our ears. City and Colour have given us an album name and release date, The Beatles have an album newly available online worldwide, there’s debut LPs from a couple of cool kids, as well as the return of some who’ve been around a while. Check it out!

CITY AND COLOUR

The State of Affairs - Latest Music Industry News: 28th February 2013

This broadcast will not be broadcasted! What?! Take off your headphones, Radio is in trouble. Also, if you haven’t seen him on the festival rounds, Flume, is touring the nation. Rita Ora, Rita who now? Well you should learn the name. And wait there’s more.

the AU interview: Cast of Beatlemania (London)

beatlemania

Without any argument, The Beatles have to be the greatest band in history. Not only did they capture an entire world’s imagination, but even still to this day, their records keep selling. For many people of my generation however, we will never get the chance to see The Beatles. The only time we can hear their magnificent songs live is via the local cover band at the pub or one of the million tribute bands in the world. Most of those tribute bands do the songs or the band no justice whatsoever. However, Beatlemania do. From the top of their mop tops to the Sgt. Pepper suits to the positioning of Paul’s bass, these guys may as well be The Beatles. Ahead of their tour kicking off in a few weeks, we got to speak to the band about The Beatles.

Album Release News Weekly: Monday, 15 October 2012

This week there is something for everyone!! New Releases include The Rolling Stones, Broken Links, The Beatles, and The Black Keys. Keep an eye out for even more new release announcements this week!

The State of Affairs - Latest Music Industry News: August 11th 2012

In this weeks edition: Plenty of opportunities - get on commercial radio, be involved with remixing Bon Iver or grab a grant to tour and network. New signings for The Snowdroppers, Mark 'Chopper' Read and The Rubens plus yet another street press magazine closes.

The one where Larry reviews his own event: AU's 4th Birthday Bash at the Oxford Art Factory (03.08.12)

This idea all came out of having a "Super Sweet 16" sort of event as a combination for my own birthday and the websites. I would get it sponsored, give everyone gift bags and have my favourite musicians play - in full - my favourite album of all time, The Beatles' Magical Mystery Tour. What ended up occurring went far beyond even the most self indulgent of my fantasies.