AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

JIMMY EAT WORLD

the AU's Weekend Gig Guide: November 20th - November 23rd.

We've taken a look at some of the shows we're going to be heading to throughout the week ahead and deliver you this guide - our national gig picks of the week!

Live Review: Jimmy Eat World + My Echo - The Forum, Melbourne (17.11.14)

Although Jimmy Eat World's Futures didn't get the same press as Bleed American, it still remains a fan favourite. Between the blistering power chords of single "Pain", the stupidly catchy chorus of title track "Futures" and the bare beauty of "Drugs or Me" it isn't much off a question as to why. So when the announcement was made that the band were touring the album in full for its 10th anniversary, fans went running at the chance to see the under-appreciated sister of Bleed American in all its glory for probably the only time in their lives. It's the only way to explain the packed floor I arrive onto less than 30 minutes after doors.

Photo Gallery: Jimmy Eat World + My Echo - Forum Theatre, Melbourne (17.11.14)

Rebecca Houlden headed along to see Jimmy Eat World, joined by My Echo at the Forum Theatre in Melbourne, and brings us this photo gallery from the pit.

Live Review: Jimmy Eat World - Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide (12.11.14)

The first thought that pops into most people’s heads when they hear the term ‘futures’ is Future Music Festival. You know, that summer festival where everyone parades around their ‘shredded’ physique and seems unduly ‘amped’ about seeing Avicii? Yeah, that one. There’s a small group of people however, that upon hearing this phrase straight away thinks of the classic Jimmy Eat World album - an album that provided many with that sublime blend of vulnerability, angst and passion that every teenager looks for in an album. Celebrating the 10-year anniversary of this record, Jimmy Eat World treated its Adelaide fan base to a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, playing an action-packed set that included all of Futures, and a whole lot more.

Photo Gallery: Jimmy Eat World + My Echo - Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide (12.11.14)

Jimmy Eat World have returned to Australia to celebrate ten years of the album Futures. The American rockers hit the stage in Adelaide at the Thebbie Theatre to play the album in full and more. Melbourne band My Echo were a strong opening act. Our photographer John Goodridge was there to capture the action.

Gig Announcements: Melbourne & VIC - 4th September 2014.

In this Issue: Devilskin head for the Espy, Stephen Ward launches his new EP, The Toff in Town hosts day of peace performance, Sex on Toast and more to play the Melbourne Underground Film Festival after party; Apes set for Ballarat gig, Jimmy Eat World add second show in Melbourne, The War on Drugs add second Melbourne gig, Canadian Blast showcase at the Ding Dong Lounge, Grand Wazoo bringing funk/soul to Thornbury Theatre. Legendary musician Rodriguez adds another show in Melbourne, Mark Lanegan returns to the Ding Dong lounge, Bert LaBonte and the Funk City Band immortalises Marvin Gaye, Sunbeam Sound Machine announce debut album, and Rob Snarki promises a night of entertainment and fun.

Jimmy Eat World to perform 'Futures' on special Australian & NZ tour!

Last seen in Australia for Soundwave, Jimmy Eat World have been announced to stage a return Down Under - including a visit to NZ - to celebrate the 10th anniversary of their Futures album! The band will perform the album in full to mark the occasion - after their recent festival sets went down as some of the most popular of the day back in the earlier months of 2014, we're expecting these shows to be even more special, that's for sure!

Festival Review: Soundwave - Bonython Park, Adelaide (01.03.14)

By the time Soundwave put up stops in Adelaide for another year, I'll admit that I was struggling. Falling on the 1st of March, the largest touring festival in the country aptly kicks off 'March Madness' for the Festival State and by this stage, myself and a lot of other Adelaideans have had shows thrown at us from every which way possible through the first two months of the year. It's sunny, there's a cool breeze and god damn it, I wanted some good live tunes because fuck it, I'm a sucker for it, so off I went down to Bonython Park for the second time in just over a month.

Photo Gallery: Soundwave Festival Part 3 - Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne (28.02.14)

In the final part of our photo gallery from Soundwave in Melbourne we bring you photos of Avenged Sevenfold, Devildriver, Jimmy Eat World, Korn,Letlive., Mastodon, Rob Zombie, Motionless in White and Green Day.

Video Feature: The bands of Soundwave Festival 2014 sum up the festival in one word!

We ask the bands of Soundwave Festival 2014 if they can sum up the festival in one word. Here's what they had to say. This video features, in order in part one: Mastodon, John 5 from Rob Zombie, DARKC3LL, GWAR, Chris from Five Finger Death Punch, Dir En Grey, AFI, Mutemath, Deez Nuts, Filter, Mutemath (Again) and Boots Electric from Eagles of Death Metal. Part two follows...

Live Review: Jimmy Eat World + Panic! At The Disco + Alkaline Trio - The Hi-Fi, Sydney (24.02.14)

From the opening piano of "Time to Waste", right up to the opening bars of acoustic guitar on "Radio" Alkaline Trio delivered their set with fervent energy as if somebody would tell them to get off stage any minute. It’s a testament to their lasting appeal and workmanlike consistency that the Hi-Fi is packed inside but still has a line of eager fans jostling to get inside when they take the early opening slot.

Photo Gallery: Jimmy Eat World + Panic! At The Disco - The HiFi Sydney (24.02.14)

Jimmy Eat World and Panic! At The Disco played to a sold out HiFi Sydney last night as part of their Soundwave Sideshow. Photos by Johnny Au.

Photo Gallery: Soundwave Part 2 - Sydney Olympic Park (24.02.14)

Photo coverage of the Sydney leg of Soundwave festival continues with artists such as Alice In Chains, Avenged Sevenfold, Clutch, Devildriver, Jimmy Eat World, Korn (pictured above), Mastodon, Pennywise, Rob Zombie and The Dillinger Escape Plan. Photos by Johnny Au.

Live Backstage Interviews from Soundwave in Sydney!

Enjoy all 19 of our backstage interviews at Soundwave Festival in Sydney over the weekend, featuring GWAR, Pennywise, Filter, Mastodon, Mutemath, Deez Nuts, AFI, Walking Papers, Richie Sambora, Jimmy Eat World, Dir En Grey, Eagles of Death Metal and many, many more... The Festival continues in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth this weekend! All the details at their official website.

the AU interview: Tom Linton from Jimmy Eat World (USA) talks Soundwave Festival 2014.

Ahead of their tour as part of Soundwave Festival, the AU review sit down with Tom Linton guitarist from Arizona's Jimmy Eat World to talk about Damage, Soundwave and reveal the secret to longevity.