St Kilda Film Festival announces 2017 nominees, in the running for $50,000 worth of cash and prizes

St Kilda Film Festival has just announced this year’s nominees for Australia’s longest-standing and publicly owned short film festival.

The nominees are all in the running for more than $50,000 worth of cash and prizes across 17 categories, and the winners will be eligible for Academy Award consideration in the Short Film and Documentary Shorts Award categories. The Winner of Best Short Film will receive a $10,000 cash prize, courtesy of the City of Port Phillip.

View the nominees below:

Best Short Film
Welcome Home Allen
The Dam

Best  Documentary
The Khalik Family Kite  Adrift
I Will Treasure Your Friendship
Secret Matters

Craft  Award
Nathan Loves Ricky Martin
After All
Wandering Soul
The Eleven O’Clock

Best Editing
Natalie Erika James, Creswick
Katrina  Barker,  The  Suitor
Drew  Thompson  ASE,  The Eleven O’Clock    
Robert  Fearon,  Welcome Home Allen

Best  Director
Mirene  Igwabi,  Adele
Luci  Schroder,  Slapper
Kate  Riedl,  The  Suitor
Andrew  Kavanagh,  Welcome  Home  Allen

Best  Actor
Martin  Vaughan,  The  Dam
John  Flaus,  Jolly  Roger
Sapphire  Blossom,  Slapper
Laura  Jane  Turner,  Curve

Best  Cinematography  
Brad  Francis,  Found
Zoe  White,  Waiting for Rain  
Josh  Flavell,  The Dam
Warwick  Thornton,  Black Chook    

Best Visual Effects  
Michael  Vorberg,  Face  
Jack  Nolan,  The Last Man
Ben  Blick-­Hodge, Bryn  Farrelly,  Black  Chook  
Aleksandar Janev,  Superheroes      

Best  Screenplay  
Josh Lawson,  The Eleven O’Clock
Lauren Ford,  The Anthesis of Man  
Alice  Englert,  The  Boyfriend  Game  
Jordan  Bond,  Big  City    

Best  Comedy  
The Suitor
The Mother Situation
The Anthesis of Man

Best Achievement in Sound Post Production  
Craig Jansson, Curve
John Dennison,  The Boyfriend Game
Wayne Pashley,  Iron Spyder  
Steve Nossitler,  Hitch  

Best Young Actor  
Morgana  Davies,  The Boyfriend Game    
Princess Mariama Andrews,  Adele  
Odessa Young,  Upside  Down  Feeling    
Toby Wallace,  Smashed  

Best Original Score
Matthew McKenzie,  Found
Mick Harvery,  Iron Spyder    
Matteo  Zingales,  Fish With Legs
George Farrar, Oliver Whitehead, Pillars

Best Indigenous Filmmaking
Black Chook  
Brown Paper Bag  
Nobody’s Child    

Under the Radar:  Best Youth Short Film
Faux  Grandpa  
To  Have  and  To  Hold  
Nice  Girls  

The 2017 nominees feature an array of diverse films and genres, as City of Port Phillip Mayor Bernadene Voss says  “The City of Port Phillip is always proud to be able to showcase the innovative and inspiring films created and starred in by some of Australia’s best talent across different disciplines….we look forward to revealing the winners of the 2017 St Kilda Film Festival awards later this week at the Closing Night event.”

The St Kilda Film Festival’s Top 100 Films are judged by a panel of industry professionals, with the 2017 judging panel made up of Trudy Hellier, Adele Fleur and Salik Silverstein.

This year’s winners will be announced at the St Kilda Film Festival’s Closing Night Awards on Saturday 27 May at the St Kilda Town Hall.

More information is available on the St Kilda Festival website.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT