Game of Thrones, Harry Potter and Doctor Who stars join Supernova’s Brisbane and Adelaide 2016 line-up

Australia’s home grown comic-con, Supernova Pop Culture Expo, has announced a superstar line-up for Brisbane and Adelaide this year. The 2016 line-up will see exciting guest appearances from stars of our most beloved geeky films and television shows including, Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Suicide Squad and Back to The Future.

Natalia Tena (Game of Thrones, Harry Potter), Lucy Hale (Pretty Little Liars), Claudia Wells (Back to the Future), Ian Bohen (Teen Wolf), Karen Fukuhara (Suicide Squad), and Michelle Gomez (Doctor Who) are just some of the stars joining Supanova’s Brisbane and Adelaide line-up this year.

The Brisbane and Adelaide expo will also see appearances from Australian horror icon John Jarratt (Wolf Creek) who will be promoting his new film Boar, as well as Aussie Director and Actor Scott A. Brewer who will be promoting his new sci-fi action film, Garrison 7: Universe, which is set to begin production in 2017.

While both the Brisbane and Adelaide expo have a killer line-up, Adelaide’s Supanova Expo has an extra surprise in store. The event will see an exclusive guest appearance from Game of Throne’s Dutch actress Carice van Houten, who plays Melisandre in the hit HBO series. 

Alongside exciting guest appearances, Supanova has a ton of workshops including New Zealand’s Weta Workshop showcasing special effects, with special guests senior conceptual designer Johnny Fraser-Allen, hair and makeup and special effects artists Dion Smith, and author and designer Daniel Falconer. The Expo will also see World of Warcraft composer Jason Hayes lead a symphonic rock concert.

Supanova will be held at Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre on 11-13 November 2016 and Adelaide Showground November 19-20 2016.  Check out the full guest line-up below:

Film and Television

  • Nathan Fillion(Firefly, Castle)
  • Lucy Hale(Pretty Little Liars)
  • Holly Marie Combs(Charmed)
  • Jason Mewes(Jay & Silent Bob)
  • Ricky Whittle(American Gods)
  • Karen Fukuhara(Suicide Squad)
  • Michelle Gomez(Doctor Who)
  • Eoin Macken(Merlin)
  • Claudia Wells(Back to the Future)
  • Ian Bohen (Teen Wolf)
  • Jade & Ryan(Cheez TV)
  • Veronica Taylor(Pokémon)
  • John DiMaggio(Adventure Time)
  • Billy West(Futurama)
  • Steve Blum(Star Wars Rebels, Transformers)
  • Mary Elizabeth McGlynn(Naruto)


  • Matthew Reilly(Contest, Scarecrow novels, Jack West novels)
  • Peter V. Brett(The Demon Cycle)
  • Lian Hearn(Tales of OtoriThe Tale of Shikanoko)
  • Alan Baxter(The Alex Caine Series)
  • Maria Lewis(Who’s Afraid?)
  • Kim Wilkins(Daughters of the StormSisters of the Fire)
  • Alison Goodman(Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club)
  • Jane Abbott(Watershed)
  • Angela Slatter (Vigil)

Comic creators

  •    Phil Noto (Star Wars: Poe Dameron)
  •    Mico Suayan (Bloodshot: Reborn)
  •    Tom Taylor (All-New Wolverine, The Deep)
  •     Dean Rankine (Simpsons)
  •     Mark Sexton (Mad Max: Fury Road)
  •     Alisha Jade (Petrie Press)
  •     David Yardin (Extraordinary X-Men)
  •     Ryan K. Lindsay (Negative Space)
  •     Mark Raats (Motion Picture Industry Illustrator)
  •     Stewart McKenny (Star Wars: Clone Wars)
  •     Wayne Nichols (Orphan Black)
  •     David Follett (Harry the Dog – NewsHound)
  •     Michal Dutkiewicz (Lost in Space)
  •     Greg Holfeld (Captain Congo)


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT