Entries now open for the 2015 Sydney Film Festival


Entries are now open for the 62nd Sydney Film Festival, set to run from 3-14th June 2015.

Last year, out of 2,500 films 192 were invited to the Festival, and was viewed by 156,000 audience members. Two new award categories were also introduced: the Documentary Australia Foundation Award for Australian Documentary and the Event Cinemas Australian Short Screenplay Award.

Entries are open to features, documentaries and short films (under 40 minutes) in all categories of the Festival program, including:

  • The Documentary Australia Foundation Award for Australian Documentary (cash prize $10,000).
  • The Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films Live Action Award and Best Director – both winners receive cash prizes of $5000 sponsored by Dendy Cinemas.
  • The Yoram Gross Animation Award (cash prize $4,000).
  • The Event Cinemas Australian Short Screenplay Award (cash prize $5,000).

Past winners have included Chris Noonan (Babe), Don McAlpine (Moulin Rouge), Jack Thompson (The Man From Snowy River), Phil Noyce, Jane Campion, Rolf de Heer, Alex Proyas and George Miller.

Dendy Cinemas have been proud to sponsor the Awards for 27 years, and the winner of their Live Action Award is now eligible for Academy Award consideration. Also eligible is the winner of the Yoram Gross Animation Award. Yoram and Sandra Gross have sponsored the Yoram Gross Animation Award since 1987.

For all information on submission requirements and eligibility criteria, visit: http://www.filmfestivallife.com/Sydney-Film-Festival.

Submissions can be made directly via http://www.sff.org.au/public/about/2015-film-submissions/, and will close on Friday 27th February 2015.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The Iris and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT theaureview.com.