WAM Song of the Year 2016-17 nominees announced with Riley Pearce leading the pack

Pulling from an incredible talent pool, the 2016-2017 WAM song of the year nominees have just dropped, and what a list! Having already boosted the careers of Tired Lion, Methyl Ethyl, and KUČKA, WA’s premiere song competition is one of Australia’s biggest, and the 2016-17 event is sure to be no exception.

Vying for a share in over $40,000 in prizes, the nominees are split across 16 categories, catering for all music styles and genres. This years list includes the likes of Bill LawrieThe BrowKate Pass and rock group Rag n’ Bone just to name a few while Riley Pearce leads the pack with three nominations.

A comprehensive and talented list of judges including Fiona KitschinPaul Harding and Rob Younger, have anonymously assessed the nominees, each independently choosing their prospective favourites.

The winners are set to be revealed in true WAM style, with a song of the year awards party on the harbourside, on Wednesday the 17th of May, at the WA Maritime Museum. Acts like MC Magnus Danger MagnusDJ Charlie Bucket and The Money War will be leading the celebratory charge, ensuring that things kick on well into the evening.

And the nominees are…


Sponsored by Clancy’s Fish Pub Fremantle | Studio sponsor Shanghai Twang Studios

Carus Thompson – Beach Fires
Dan Howls – The Prince
Jordan McRobbie – Candle
Mark Turner – Yes I Do
Michael Ellis – Time For Change


Sponsored by Country Music Club of Boyup Brook WA | Studio sponsor Fremantle Recording Studios

Belle Harvey – Bridges Burn
Bill Lawrie – Dalwallinu Hotel
Helen Townsend & Bill Chambers – Promised Land
Ralway Bell – Caught In The Crossfire
The Jackson Roses – Can’t Find You


Sponsored by City of Fremantle I Studio sponsor Tone City Recording Studio

Lilt – Ghosts
Out of the Blue – Vice
Shyguy – Had It I’m Hiding
Lilt Wait – No More
Tobacco Rat – Infra


Sponsored by Firestarter Distribution | Studio sponsor Blackbird Studio

Gravy Murphy – The World Is Your Moisture
The Intenso Band – As Steadfast As The Ether Itself
Jameson Feakes – A Window In Sicily
Samarobryn – The Road Is My River
The Intenso Band – A Small Margin of Terror


Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival | Studio sponsor Artisan Music

Bill Lawrie – Always Be The Bad Girl In This Town
Nicky Sandover – Orange Tree
Riley Pearce – Circles
Riley Pearce – Seasick
These Winter Nights – Heart’s On Fire


Sponsored by Spotify | Studio sponsor Sumo Sound

Kimura – Book Of The Dead
Nucleust – Of King & Tree
Shimmergloom – Smithereens
St James Sirens – Empires Fall
The Decline – Can’t Have Both


Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club | Studio sponsor Crank Recording

Ben Matthews – Esperanzish
Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group – Where Would I Be Without You
Harry Mitchell – Gabba The Hut
Harry Mitchell – Ignacio
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble – Point Of Departure


Sponsored by Noongar Radio | Studio sponsor Foxhole Studios

The Brownley Gospel Singers – The Man Of Calvary
Desert Stars – Ngurra Nyangatja (Our Home)
The Struggling Kings – Ardyaloon (Guligool)
The Struggling Kings – Oceans
Platform 2 – Faultline


Sponsored by APRA AMCOS | Studio sponsor Sonic Lolly

Codee-Lee – Heart Is A Compass
Valentine – Can’t Shake You
Kado Muir & LYC Crew feat. KJ – I Choose To Be Free (The Mamu Tjiitjii Song)
Julie Kember – Gypsy Woman
Like A Thief – Take Me Back


Sponsored by Cool Perth Nights/Mojos | Studio sponsor Debaser Studio

Lucy Peach – Silver Tongue
Morgan Bain – Summed It Up
Riley Pearce – Outside The Lines
Sydnee Carter – When We Were Young
The Brow – Circles


Sponsored by Perfect Pitch Publishing | Studio sponsor Templeman Audio

Blindspot – Thin Ice
Rag N’ Bone – Pissy Flow
Scalphunter – Men With Square Eyes
Scalphunter –  A Lie They Call The Truth
The Decline – Can’t Have Both


Sponsored by Badlands Bar | Studio sponsor Poons Head Studios

High Horse – Carbon Copy
Mt. Mountain – Moon Desire
Our Man In Berlin – A Lightbulb Mind
Rag N’ Bone – Pissy Flow
The Money – War Recall


Sponsored by RØDE | Studio sponsor Vision Studios

Farraday’s Cage – Meaning Of Life
Hachi – f i r e e s c a p e
Idgie All – Those Lies Fall In
Lily Kate – Empty Road
Toby Jonah – Cinnamon

SCHOOLS 15 – 17

Sponsored by Diskbank | Studio sponsor Underground Studios

Belgrade – Me
Burdiya Mob – Djarliny
Charlotte Viney – Young & Reckless
Megan Grace – I Wanna Go Back
Siobhan Cotchin – All Night All Right


Sponsored by Audiofly | Studio sponsor Shake Down Studio

Bluntfield – The Soap Box
Chiseko & Jcal – Juice
Macshane – Meant To Do
Morgan Bain – Summed It Up
The Brow – Circles


Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival | Studio sponsor Rada Studios

56 Hope Road – Justice
Barefeet Sojourns – Run Run
Brassika – Roll Your Eyes
Jere Sosa – Taste Of Honey
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble – Point Of Departure

Presale tickets are $20+BF (WAM members) $25+BF (non members) available via Moshtix.

Head to the event’s official website to find out more about the prizes on offer for the winners, and to learn more about the event and its nominees HERE.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT theaureview.com.
Tags: , ,