The 2016 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition now accepting entries

Songwriters are encouraged to enter the 2016 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition, with entries now open for another year! As with previous years, the winning writer/s will take home a $50,000 prize thanks to APRA AMCOS and Alberts, while two separate cash prizes are up for grabs for the runners up – $10,000 and $5,000, respectively.

The competition, regarded as one of the world’s most prestigious, accepts entries from songwriters based all around the world and aims to support songwriters while raising funds for the Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia organisation. The organisation uses music therapy to deliver benefits to children battling physical and intellectual disabilities, mental health problems, depression, medical illnesses and more, not to mention learning and behavioural difficulties. To find out more about NRMTA, visit their website.

The Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition, to date, has raised upwards of over half a million dollars through four competitions; to enter, entrants will be required to pay $50.00 as an entry fee per song. All proceeds go directly towards NRMTA.

Head on over to the Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition’s WEBSITE for more information on the event and to submit your entry! Entries close at 11:59pm AEST, July 13th.

The full list of judges has also been announced, with various members of the media, music industry (Australian and international) all taking part.



Andrew Mast – The Music
Andrew P Street – Fairfax Media
Bernard Zuel – Sydney Morning Herald
Bob Gordon – Xpress Magazine
Bryget Chrisfield – The Music
Cameron Adams – Herald Sun
Chris Martin – The Brag
Christie Eliezer – Pollstar
Dan Cassin – Nova 96.9 Sydney
Dan Hill – hit101.9 Fox FM
Danielle McGrane – AAP
Dave McClung – Nova 93.7 Perth
Dom Alessio – triple j
Iain Shedden – The Australian
Irene Hulme – Today Network
James Wigney – Herald Sun
Jay Walkerdon – Nova 106.9 Brisbane
Kathy McCabe – The Daily Telegraph
Larry Heath – The AU Review
Lars Brandle – Billboard
Lindsay McDougall
Lucy Dayman – Tone Deaf
Mark Nielsen – The Music
Matt Coyte – Rolling Stone
Meagan Loader – triple j
Mickey Maher – Southern Cross Austereo
Noel Mengel
Paul Cashmere – Noise 11
Poppy Reid – The Music Network
Robert Dunstan – B-Side Magazine
Rod Yates – Rolling Stone
Sam Kelton – The Advertiser
Simon Collins – The West Australian
Sosefina Fuamoli – The AU Review
Stephen Ferris – FBi/Vivid Sydney
Tim Poulton – Music Feeds
Toni Pipicelli – Max/Smooth TV
Wendy Saunders – Nova 96.9 Sydney


Amanda Brown
Brendan Gallagher
Eric Chapus
Grant Windsor
James Blundell
Jonny Sonic (Potbelleez)
Katie Noonan
Les Gock
Lior Attar
Matthew De La Hunty
Paul Greene
Mark Moffatt
Simon Lewicki


Andrew Stone – Chugg Entertainment
Becc Bates – Arts SA
Cathy Oates – Original Matters
Damian Cunningham – Live Music Office
Daniel Nall – Rabble Records
Dave McGregor – Macsta Management
Don Elford – AEG Ogden
Greg Carey – Umbrella Music
Michael Taylor – Universal Music Australia
Peter Coquillard – Milk and Honey Management
Rowan Brand – RedGreenBlueCo


Andrew Mackay – Composer
Audra Mae – Songwriter
Charlie Arme – Tileyard Publishing
David Ryan Harris – Songwriting
Fiona Bevan – Songwriter
Greg Haver – Producer
Leonidas Chantzaras – Songwriter, Producer, A&R
Maegan Cottone – Songwriter
Trey Campbell – Songwriter


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT