New Music Discoveries 10th November: Le Shiv, Pillow Queens, Last Dinosaurs, and more

Le Shiv

This week we have added another ten tracks to our Discovery playlist on Apple Music and Spotify, including two singles we exclusively premiered earlier in the week. Our track of the week is “Charlie Don’t Go” from Australia’s  Le Shiv. 

The single was written by Le Shiv’s lead singer, Pencil with Grouplove’s Andrew Wessen, on a solo road trip along the East Coast of America. After a few days of drinking and surfing, they chanced upon an old man named Charlie, in a local bar. A big and hazy evening followed, and this high-energy genre-straddling tune was the outcome. They have announced that their long-awaited debut EP, New World Colour is scheduled to be released on January 19th. They have a bunch of shows lined up doing various support slots – check out their Facebook page for more details.

“Suffer” is the new single from Irish indie rock band Pillow Queens. The gripping, drum-driven track is the precursor to a spate of live dates across the UK and Europe, including an already sold out London stop. The track, which is produced by Collin Pastore (boygenius, Lucy Dacus) is an emotive exploration of love, self deception, and a relationship unravelled. It’s a taut and powerful track that grips you from the start. Destined to be a hit live — we loved it!

Newcastle rockers Hey Lenny have released “Josephine Blvd”, their first single from an upcoming body of work that willl see the light of day next year. They will be playing at the Rolling Sets festival at The Entrance on the 9th of December. There are some chilled surf-rock vibes to this one, sweet melodies and harmonies to wash away your worries.

Amidst a co-headline tour of the US and Mexico, Australian indie rockers Last Dinosaurs are releasing their brand new concept EP Ryu, from where playlist add “Elton” is taken. According to songwriter Sean Caskey, the year is 3023 and the AI revolution has been fought, won, and lost. A powerful AI satellite running low on battery, reprograms itself and transforms into an ancient style radio station playing music it generates based on algorithms learned from previous civilisations. Ryu is those songs. Alongside the EP the band is releasing a companion comic book to help immerse listeners and fans even further into the world. The post-apocalypse has never sounded so good!

West Thebarton are back with the passionate and searing “Desire” and have announced that their new studio album Mongrel Australia will be released on the 22nd of March 2024. About the track, the bands Ray Dalfsen writes: “Desire is the pull of the coast, the craving of passion and a feeling of irresistible release when you separate yourself from the world for a split second and escape,”. It’s as intense as their live performances, and we can’t wait to hear more.

“Ur Place” is the new single from Australian indie artist Catching Z’s. If you’re a long time follower of this playlist you’ll know that we love a bit of jangle pop/rock at the AU, and this one really hits the spot. There’s a good balance of happy and sad vibes here and a solid dose of nostalgia delivered in a laidback way. One to listen out for in the future.

Also added to the playlist this week are new tracks from Launceston punk rockers Slow Down Sonic with “Scars” and West Australian indie folksters Yo Yo Sun with “Starcrossed Lovers”. Finally, we also have exclusive premieres from LAVELIN (“Blind”) and This Space Is Ours (“All The Things I’ve Been Avoiding”).

Catch the new music updated every Friday on Apple Music:

and on Spotify:

Here’s the complete list of new additions this week:

Le Shiv “Charlie Don’t Go”
Pillow Queens “Suffer”
Hey Lenny “Josephine Blvd”
Last Dinosaurs “Elton”
West Thebarton “Desire”
Slow Down Sonic “Scars”
Catching Z’s “Ur Place”
Yo Yo Sun “Starcrossed Lovers”
LAVELIN “Blind” [Exclusive Single Premiere]
This Space Is Ours  “All The Things I’ve Been Avoiding” [Exclusive Video Premiere]