Methyl Ethel announce new album, Everything Is Forgotten, dropping March 3rd

Perth’s psychedelic-pop trio Methyl Ethyl have just released the second cut from their upcoming second album, Everything Is Forgotten. The new single titled “Ubu” is a funk-driven journey opening with a fat bass line accompanied by frontman Jake Webb’s fluid vocals, before transforming into an intensely hypnotic, groovy hook about haircuts.

It’s playful and tinged with a retro, 80’s pop shine- a different approach for the typically shadowy psych-rock band.

The new album is written and recorded by Webb and produced by James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Foals), and is shaping up to be the band’s most compelling release yet. You can check out the the first single from the album, “No. 28” HERE and pre-order Everything Is Forgotten HERE. Their tight three-show Australian tour is already sold out, but you can gaze dreamily at the track-list for the record below.

Everything Is Forgotten

1. Drink Wine
2. Ubu
3. No. 28
4. Femme Maison/One Man House
5. L’Heure des Sorcières
6. Act Of Contrition
7. Groundswell
8. Hyakki Yakō
9. Summer Moon
10. Weeds Through The Rind
11. Schlager


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT